Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Mountain getaway

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The view, surrounding land, the accommodations, the breakfast, the staff...everything. It is truly intended to be a peaceful getaway.
Location: Highlands, NC for dining and shopping. All around the area for hiking and scenic views. Golf is nearby as well.
Fire Mountain is located about 15 minutes outside of Highlands, NC, which gives you access to all the fine restaurants and shopping while at the same time offering it's own mountain top seclusion. They take the time to get to know you and suggest the local activities that will appeal most to you with all of their local knowledge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Candacefrom Atlanta

Excellent Inn

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first trip to Highlands in a very long time, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Property was beautiful, lots of privacy, modern rooms (we stayed in the Treehouse) and an amazing complementary breakfast. Close enough to Highlands to drive in easily for dinner, and hosts were terrific in helping us find some great hiking trails for during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Katefrom South Carolina

Beautiful place for nature lovers!

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay at Fire Mountain Inn. We stayed in the lodge and felt that we had enough privacy. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. The surroundings are beautiful and offer spectacular views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This is a good place if you want to commune with nature, but you'll need to be prepared to go into Highlands or elsewhere for restaurants, etc., The hosts are accommodating and clearly go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. Breakfast is a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Awesome resort in North Carolina Mountains

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Awesome views, Great hosts, wonderful breakfast, very clean, plenty of acreage to enjoy walks. Away from busy towns but close enough for a drive.
Cons: Awesome as it is!
Location: In the mountains of NC, a short drive to Highlands, NC and beautiful waterfalls.
Wonderful get away in NC mountains with awesome views and fabulous sunset! Minutes away from Highlands, Cashiers, Franklin, and nearby Georgia mountain communities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennyfrom Mississippi

Perfect mountain getaway at Highlands

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms, staff, views/scenery, quietness, food
Cons: Not much---if anything, maybe slightly earlier breakfast
If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful mountain escape with spectacular views then Fire Mountain is the place for you. We stayed 2 nights in June in the Satohla room. It is about a 20 minute drive outside of Highlands due to winding mountain roads. But the drive was scenic and was not an inconvenience for us. We checked-in at 1 p.m. with Matthew who was very informative and attentive to any specials needs or requests we had...restaurant reservations and activities we were interested in. We appreciated the earlier check-in time, as opposed to 4 p.m. check-in time at most places. This gave us time to enjoy the afternoon there. The Satohla room was excellent---very clean and spacious with a comfy bed and a fireplace (we used both nights even in June). Several sitting areas to enjoy inside and out, and it had 2 porches---1 on sunrise and 1 on sunset side. Porch had great chairs for lounging and even had a hammock for naps. The views from the sunset porch were spectacular. For our 2 night stay we spent hours there just reading and enjoying the views. For dinners we drove into town, but hurried back to to enjoy the sunset views. Breakfasts here were wonderful....fresh fruits/juices/jams, tasty pastries, meats, biscuits....everything gourmet and plenty to fill you up. Had a bonfire Saturday in a grove-type area with excellent sunset views...this was also a great spot for relaxing during the day. Awesome mountain-top Inn for couples looking to get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nataliefrom Charlotte

Amazing hospitality and a WOW experience...

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
WOW! What a beautiful place and the staff was simply amazing. We left Charlotte in a snow storm, feeling uncertain that we would arrive to the mountains. From the moment we booked our stay, I received a welcome phone call and that was just the beginning. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a stunning room with gorgeous views of the mountains and acquainted with our room and the grounds. The staff was incredibly warm, pleasant, inviting and attentive to our needs. They plowed the road for us to park, made a delicious breakfast each morning and made sure we had directions and suggestions to all of the area attractions and restaurants. The room was beautiful, modern, serene, super clean and I would recommend this inn to anyone. A big thank you to the staff at Fire Mountain Inn, you are all exceptional at your work!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely perfect

Posted Nov 10, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More amenities

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly, responsive staff
Cons: Offer coffee and tea service throughout late afternoon and evening. Have microwave available.
Location: Close to hiking
I would like to see coffee and tea service available for guests. Also, microwave to heat meals since dinner is not served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nanfrom N.C.

Relaxation at it's best!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly. The breakfast was great.
Location: Hiking and sightseeing was close. Downtown Highlands was about 30 minutes away.
Our stay at this mountaintop setting was very quiet and peaceful. The perfect spot if relaxation is your goal.