Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Lovely retreat with clay tennis court

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, comfortable beds, great restaurant & service, exceptional pools, saunas and tennis court.
Cons: Not necessarily handicapped accessible...many stairs to negotiate.
Location: Eagles Nest (Kehlsteinhaus), Obersalzburg, Konigssee
My husband, daughter and I had a lovely stay. The restaurant was exceptional...one of our best meals in Germany. The pools and sunning areas were fabulous, but the prize for us was the under-utilized clay tennis court next to the "Wald," under the overhanging Kehlsteinhaus or "Eagles Nest." Nice quiet area and so much space, indoors and out. Beautiful room...I could have stayed for a month!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2014
Cons: No air conditioning, but provided an electric fan that was very helpful.
Great view from our beautiful deck. Upscale dining experience. Quiet. Many amenities available that we did not have time for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Getaway Location

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was gorgeous, inside and out. The staff was friendly, attentive, and provided us with everything we had asked for from directions to parts of the town to giving us something we forgot in our luggage. The hotel had a great indoor and outdoor pool, the food was excellent for every meal of the day, and our room was clean, new, and held every amenity necessary to relax, including a great view of the mountains from our balcony. I would stay here again several times over and will recommend this hotel to all friends and family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oregon Couple

Enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Alpenhof

Posted Feb 20, 2014
The Alpenhof isn't the least expensive place to stay in the Berchtesgaden area, but it's not the most expensive, either. The staff was very helpful to us and all the staff spoke English. The inn is just five minutes from downtown Berchtesgaden, and about the same distance to Konigsee and the Mt. Jenner cable car line. The hotel was clean, comfortable and we loved that there was both a heated indoor and a heated outdoor pool. We were able to decide each morning, after reviewing the dinner menu, whether we wanted to purchase the half-board plan or order dinner ala carte - not all inns are that flexible. I would recommend the Alpenhof - it's worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel S. from United States

The best of Berchtesgaden

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel Alpenhof is perfectly located to reach any surrounding areas and is also perfect for privacy at the same time. The staff of this wonderful hotel make an already enjoyable atmosphere even better! The room is clean, the bed comfortable, the shower modern with hot water and great pressure. The inclusive breakfasts are fantastic and you must not miss them. The dinners are equally excellent. This was our second stay and just the beginning of many more years of visits. We never want to leave...ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Suzanne from Arlington Texas

Wonderful visit, wished we had stayed longer!

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was an outstanding hotel and spa/wellness center. We booked the hotel mainly for its location in Berchtesgaden because we were interested in the area but it could be a destination in itself! The room was beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable, the view from the room was stellar, and the food in the hotel restaurant (both breakfast and dinner) was outstanding! We wished that we could have stayed longer. The heated indoor and outdoor pool looked so enticing - we foolishly did not bring swimsuits and regretted it. What a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful location! You will love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A and S Alpenhof

Posted Sep 25, 2012
I would have liked to have more time at this hotel but it was only an overnight stop. The entire hotel was beautiful. The restaurant was superb. There is a beautiful pool that goes from inside to out and the views from the balcony were outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Mundelein, IL, USA

Beautiful hotel in the Alps

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Women hate the towels for some reason. They worked for me but not my girlfriend.
Location: Beautifully located in the Alps close to Berchtesgaden and Koenigsee.
Fabulous location, friendly staff, great amenities and outstanding food and service. I could repeat everything that has been written by others, so I will instead refer you to those reviews. We plan on visiting again next year.