Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

great location

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: lovely views,close to Fussen and the lake
Cons: outside seating area
Location: Within walking distance of the castles,and Fussen. Bikes for hire nearby
We stayed here 5 nights to see castles etc. good location with lovely views .room was a good size and we had a balcony which was nice. the breakfast was good, they weren't doing evening meals when we stayed.The only downside was the bus loads of Chinese or Japanese that turned up once in a while and were quite noisy. wouldn't put me off staying again though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thompsontown, Pennsylvania

Close to Neuschwanstein Castle.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Neuschwanstein Castle could be seen from the hotel. It was in a small town. Loved the country setting but not many places to dine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location! Nice Rooms!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This hotel is just a few minutes from the castle. You have a view from the castle from the hotel. Clean accomodations and friendly staff. Great breakfast selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from I

A cosy place to stay in a small village.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The staff is very nice and the rooms are cosy and clean. A perfect gateway to the nearby castles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helmut from NC

Great location, nice staff

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: good price, great location, great "feel"
Cons: n/a
Location: Well, there is always Neuschwanstein... and the other castles, and the mountains, and all the places in town have great food!
Great location, and the staff was very friendly. Some of the bathroom fixtures look out of style, but not worn and in perfect working order. The place just has a nice feel to it and an awesome breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by Gwendolyn from Columbus, OH

Overpriced for what it provided

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The view if you're facing the hillside. And their breakfast was good.
Cons: Lower price
Location: The castles were amazing; there was a brewhaus that as long as they're not busy was great. We planned to eat there twice, but didn't due to rudeness.
We were at the hotel to go on our day tour of the nearby castles. Most of our journey we have been doing hostels/cheap hotels, but due to the location, we opted to stay in the town. It was an adequate room, but not worth (in my opinion) what we paid per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sam from Shreveport

Excellent location and view

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nicely kept. Room was small but tidy. Internet worked well. Stairs were available and wide enough to accommodate carrying bags upstairs. Restaurant was closed so no breakfast, but there are plenty of places within walking distance to eat at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in close proximity to Neuschwanstein

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Location in Schwangau was great, could see Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau from just a short walk from the hotel. Loved the Hotel Post nearby for dinner. Hotel interior had a slight odor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Enjoyable

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have nothing bad to say about the place. For those looking for a cheaper hotel, you can't go wrong with this one. Great people run the place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big but empty?

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Quite, clean, free wifi, bathtub
Cons: hopefully restaurants and beer garden will be reopened soon
Location: close to Schloss Neuschwanstein. No meals, but both German and Italian restaurants in walking distance.
Overall the hotel was ok and we did not experience any major problems. A bit irritating was the fact that while this is a quite big hotel obviously we were the only guests. For breakfast you will walk through the huge restaurant but it was totally empty. We were told that no meals except of breakfast can be served because there is no chef.