Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location, but a little worn

Posted Jun 29, 2015
This hotel is centrally located for much in the Highlands area. A great base to work from in terms of day trips. The hotel itself has seen better days, but it is certainly comfortable and you can see that some upgrades are taking place. The restaurant food was above expectations, but service was lacking. Also disappointed in the number of on-site activities. Most were closed during our stay (June 2015).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel but slow breakfast service

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Had a lovely stay at this hotel and the only complaint would be the dining hall and the lack of cleanliness in respect of dirty dishes not cleared away so your sitting eating with uncleared tables round about you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtonhill

Ideal for hillwalking and close to Aviemore.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Good rooms and an enjoyable swim. Choice of food very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selkirk

Fantastic family hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Great time had by us all in this clean, friendly and well run hotel. Excellent facilities for kids, comfortable and spacious for adults. Lovely food, live music entertainment and clean and friendly service. Will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Weekend stay.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The food was very good
Cons: A lift would be an asset. Also it would be good if large groups celebrating special occasions could be kept in a separate area.
Location: Lots of good country walking. We walked round Loch Eilein and we visited the Wildlife Park at Kingussie We took our grandchildren to the putting.
The staff without exception were very nice and efficient. Our room was comfortable and well kept but too hot (duvets too heavy) and no fan. We were pleased that the staff found us a quieter table for dinner, away from a very noisy group celebrating a birthday. Really think they should have been asked to keep down the noise which really was outrageous (Friday night). We would come back because the surroundings and activities are good and the relaxed atmosphere is very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great facilities, terrible rooms

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Playground, swimming pool, nice comfortable lounge area. Food is fine. Staff very helpful.
Cons: The rooms! Totally unacceptable standard for the price.
Location: Amazing location for families - so much to do around Aviemore.
We booked a family suite so that we could put our toddler to bed, and not have to go to sleep at 7pm too. We also had a travel cot for our baby. Our "suite" was on the 1st floor, and I was very surprised to find there was no lift whatsoever in the hotel. As we had a baby in a pram, and didn't want to carry it up and down stairs, I asked for a room on the ground floor, to be told there are no family suites on the ground floor... Surely we're not the first family to stay with a pram?! Staff helpfully offered to store the pram at reception, but that doesn't really work if the baby has fallen asleep and you want to keep them in the pram. The "suite" itself was an average sized room, split into two tiny rooms - completely inadequate for our family of two small children; I can only imagine how cramped if you had older children. Additionally, our bed was uncomfortable and extremely creaky. There was no pen in the room, the TV reception was awful, and the "Open me for £3.95" tag on the bottle of water was a joke. The free wifi was very poor and kept dropping the connection. I last stayed at Coylumbridge 25 years ago as a teenager, and our room (with the exception of the bathroom) looked like it had not been updated in this time. I have stayed in much nicer, equally well equipped rooms in Travelodges and Premier Inns - clearly Hilton is not what it once was. However, I must add that apart from the rooms, the facilities for families are excellent - a really super outdoor playground
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great old highland Hotel. Rooms are a little small

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, location.
Cons: Needs a little updating in the rooms.
Great staff make up for slightly outdated facilities. Not a luxury hotel by today's standards but certainly a very good, comfortable place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broxburn, west lothian

Nice hotel, ideal for families.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We booked the Hilton coylumbridge for Easter weekend and overall had a fantastic time. The hotel caters very well for children and provided us a great base for various activities. The hotel facilities were excellent, food superb and staff were efficient and helpful. Drinks very expensive though and bar could do with stocking some drinks for kids as well. Would definitely recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joyce from ELGIN

family outing

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
LOvely room view exceptional good place for children
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eilidh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels