Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Neil7820from Edinburgh

Nice and relaxing stay

Posted Oct 18, 2014 
Great relaxing stay, staff very polite and helpful. Room was clean and perfect size for 2 adults and a child, however the hotel itself is starting to show its age and the noise from the heating system when it starts up first thing in the morning around 05:00 is bad, it sounds like an old system and the banging goes on for quite a while. But apart from that a great time was had by the family.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Sep 23, 2014 
Not what the pictures showed on Internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2014 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Grantfrom Dunfermline

Did the job

Posted Aug 15, 2014 
The hotel did the job. Frustrating that you had to do everything through the central reception. The room was far too hot and the walls were paper thin. The fire alarm went off at 10.30pm. Apparently the fire sensors can't cope with the steam from the bathrooms?!? Not great with a 4 and a 6 year old asleep. We couldn't order room service, but were able to order pizza from the Italian restaurant. It turned up an hour late and Luke warm. Overall not a great experience. Would struggle to recommend it for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wai Gorfrom Hong Kong

有點舊, 整體還是不錯

Posted Aug 5, 2014 
整體同事態度友善, 講解清晰.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified travelerfrom Kirriiemuir

Great resort

Posted Jul 30, 2014 
The resort was lovely and the facilities around the resort excellent, . Staff very professional and helpful. The room was too small for 4 beds and could have been larger for a family room, only 2 of the beds were comfortable. The room didn't have any air conditioning or fans so was very hot and stuffy with the 4 of us in the room. The decor was dated but was very clean. Glad we were only staying the 1 night as we felt very cramped.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aviemore

Hotel cleanest and facilities terrible

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Absolutely discussed, where do i start, bath had a huge blue stain and still running while shower is on, extractor fan not working, bed is sunk in the middle couldnt sleep all night, apart from checking in, no reception or staff at the front all day or night, dont feel safe at all. Should have paid little more for hilton. Never going back even it's free.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeenshire

Looks on to the back of tesco, very noisy

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: refurbishment and rooms are only suitable for max 2 people
Location: great shops and a visit to Landmark is a must
Arrived early and was happy that our room was ready, when we got to our family room is was tiny and very outdated and nothing like what we seen on the web site, out our window was a tesco car park and the noise was terrible. We did complain and within 5 minutes we were moved to the Macdonald Highland hotel across the road which was beautiful and more like what we thought we had booked. The swimming pool is great but the slide is only open for 20 minutes an hour from 11-5. The staff were amazing and very helpful, breakfast was amazing and they have a wide variety of food. I will go back but never to the Macdonald Academy, I will be booking the Highland hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lindafrom Norrköping

Could have been worse

Posted Jun 27, 2014 
After having read the reviews we expected the worse. From the outside the building looked like it would have been an old easteuropean one and the same applied to the hallways but the room was much better and over all it was ok. The breakfast was also ok but not more than that. When you enter the restaurant it seems like they are serving a giant breakfast buffet but it looks better than it is. The pool facilities are not clean. I would never go back there again. Considering the rate we paid we can't complain though. We got what we paid for.