Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Excellent hotel , close to all amenities

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: We had a really good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a nice quiet room
Cons: The only thing missing from the room was a mini-bar , but room service was efficient
Location: Aviemore has something for everyone ( if the weathers fine!) .We hired bikes one day , there's also the steam railway ,but the wildlife park was dull
Actually booked the Morlich hotel but when we arrived we found we were upgraded to an executive room in the Highland hotel . Room was very comfortable and really quiet at night time . Breakfast was excellent , with plenty of choice. We'll certainly return sooner rather than later
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Liverpool

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Great price, Great staff, great room, a huge bed in a gorgeuos location. Will use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by janette from Dundee

Poor dated accommodation Staff very friendly

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Room was of a very poor standard, toilet leaked all over floor, wardrobe door would not open fully, bits missing along wooden furniture
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Alex from Oxford

Good Location but not upto the standards of others

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent resort in a beautiful location. All staff friendly and got a good rate.Not nearly as good as some of the hotels on the resort and in need of a refurb (although I believe it is closing next year for one!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very tired and run down hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
A very tired and run down hotel. No staff on reception while I was there. Lift not working. Hall and stair carpets very worn , dirty and smelly. Room clean but very tired and in need of a complete face lift! Stains on carpet, curtain hanging off the rail. Stains on seats. Toilet tiles mouldy and dirty. Paint pealing off the bottom of the bath, shower either hot or cold and no pressure. Overall a disappointing stay :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

MacDonald Aviemore Inn

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed in the MacDonald Aviemore Inn for two nights. The resort itself is pretty good, plenty to keep you & the family entertained. Its also a good base for those who like there outdoor pursuits, with plenty of walks, mountain biking, snow sports in winter etc. I played a round on the championship golf course & would thoroughly recommend it. The food was good with a choice of restaraunts. My only negative is that my room was a bit dated but this certainly would'nt stop me going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

3 Star - I don't think so!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel was in the correct location - that's all !
Cons: Reception - get more computers - have them working in the actual hotel where we are staying. Since it was the school holidays the reception was busy.
Location: Centre of Aviemore Centre - loads to do.
I have already sent a complain to yourselves - so to repeat - arrived at Reception in Aviemore Inn - there is nobody at reception so you have to go to another hotel across the road - the receptionist there tried to get us to take a double room in the Aviemore Academy! I told him we had booked the Aviemore Inn and insisted that we stay there - he went on about how both hotels were 3 star etc. etc. and I had to point to the booking form which I produced and be quite agressive to insist we got the Aviemore Inn. Lift not working - room tired and the paint was falling off the bath surround.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Be Aware!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The setting, the gardens are lovely, and it's walking distance from the shops and train station.
Cons: The decor in the rooms is dated it could do with updating. There needs to be a more modern TV in the rooms that has access to more than 5 channels!
Location: There is lots of different shops and restaurants near the hotel a visit to one of the cafés is a must for the home baking!
This hotel was clean and comfortable but the room although spacious was dated and in need of redecorating, there was nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries. They have installed a cinema and a million pound golf course but the TV in the rooms only has 5 channels, there was no access to Freeview! You can get BBC news all over the world but not in this hotel in Aviemore! There are nice restaurants in the hotel and the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

My note

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Service excellent and facilities first class.everything you need on one site
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Cheap nights stay but very dated hotel! Staff were nice and bed comfy enough but would never pay more than £50 for a room like this!