Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

easy to find sraight off the end of the station.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: position in relation to station.
Cons: It was such a shame that The royal highland hotel,had hardly any scottish staff!! A sign of the times perhaps.
Location: Close to a lot of shops.
Could do with more staff on reception, had to wait ages just for room key while guests checked in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Larkhall , Scotland

Had a train parked in our bedroom

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Impressed by the grand staircase , Staff were friendly , rooms were clean. Thats it !! other than the aforementioned disappointed. Car parking restricted to 8 cars !! Ridiculous for a hotel of this size. We were charged full breakfast rate for our eight year old when she eats like a sparrow. Looked out our bedroom window to check the view to find we looked right onto the platforms of the train station. rear end of the trains literally 15m from bedroom window. also fire escape right outside the bedroom window with no lock on the old badly maintained windows made us feel vulnerable. As the windows were the old wooden type and no secondary glazing we would have been as well sleeping on the train platform. The noise of trains and announcements kept us awake and when they stopped the noise of some large fan droning all night managed to give us a full night of disturbed sleep. Other bedroom looked onto wall with the glass bins below us which staff from bar and reaturant drop bottles etc into up till closing time, used as parking for staff so when they leave, doors banging, engines starting and loud voices in the early hours of the morning. The full place could very badly do with a makeover its starting to look very tired. You could make a start by having a carpet fitter re stretch all the hall carpets as you could lose a small child in the saggy centre section of all hallways, it presents a real trip hazard. Not impressed guys can do better.
3 out of 5
by single malt from glasgow

Central bit needs updated

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Hotel is right in the middle of the city centre. Next door to the train station. Rooms were very clean. But could do with being redecorated. Decor is looking tired and carpets frayed. Room was very small for a double bed. It was ok for a couple of nights. Housekeeping staff ignored the 'do not disturb' sign and entered the room whole I was sleeping one morning. Didn't try the food so cant comment on that. Over all it was ok for the price I pain and the location, but I wouldn't rush back.
2 out of 5
by Britannia19 from Perth, WA, Australia

I should have known better!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The lobby.
Cons: Trust. Customer services. Tired (semi-comatose) interior.
The Royal Highland Hotel is the old Inverness station hotel, with a fancy name. I had guessed as much before I got there. The main lobby is quite impressive, but that is as far as it goes. The room and facilities were underwhelming, and far too small for our 2 large, 2 medium and 2 smaller bags. If, like us, you travel with more than just a couple of overnight bags, this is not the hotel for you. There is no porter service and not even a porter's trolley available. There is also no loading bay at the front door. Unless you are one of the 8 lucky winners of an on-site space, parking is in a multi storey "just round the corner" (5 minutes drive - use your satnav to drive back to the hotel - 10 minutes walk in pouring rain!). New to me was having to pay cash for room service and pre-pay for phone calls. Out of the many many hotels I have stayed in around the world, this is the first to openly assume that I am a criminal. They had my credit card details, so what more do they need? On the positive side, the room service food was basic but tasty and the helpings were immense. I rarely say that I would never go back to somewhere. I will never go back to Inverness or the Royal Highland Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay dreadful meal

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Hotel and breakfast
Cons: Ash Restaurant !!!!
Stayed on Friday night,seems to be two separted business,would not recommend Ash Restaurant to eat at all !!.Staff unclean not interested in serving you just in talking to each other.On the other hand Hotel lovely .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by bill from highlands

pre-train joy!

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
So much easier than driving to the station in the early hours
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Candy and David from Texas

staff most helpful and friendly

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was great. The hotel is right next to station and in the heart of Inverness so you can walk everywhere....Lovely hotel with lots of history....We made a mistake with our reservation and the staff was very gracious and accommodating in finding us another for the extra day...They are warm and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Era from London

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing and very conveniently placed. Our room was a bit small and the taps were too close to the back of the sink but otherwise quite nice.
2 out of 5
by Chris from Orlando, Fl

And here's the rest of the story...

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: The rooms were large and clean. Bathrooms tidy, well appointed. The breakfast buffet was well done, well cooked. Dining room staff were friendly.
Cons: Front desk staff, even the lady at the desk first thing in the morning, were disconnected and unconcerned with guests. An annoyance!
Driving into Inverness, we were tired and excited about finding our lovely Royal Highland Hotel. The reviews had been good, not great but certainly the best available. Upon arrival we were told that there was free parking (a total of 8 spaces) but that all the spaces were taken and we would need to drive just a couple of blocks away in cold rainy weather to park our car in a lot next to the train station (at the rate of 6 pounds for 12 hours). Oh yes, luggage..no help. Trolley, nope! OK, we would do this. Upon asking questions of the evening clerk we realized that his distraction causing an occasional rolling of the eyes had something to do with the large serving of French fries (chips) under the counter in front of him. Any questions were treated as embarrassing and time consuming. We gave up on the desk and decided that we would come back later. Later there was an older gentleman at the lobby desk whose primary (and maybe not even secondary) language was not English. Most questions were given great thought and answered with subject material nothing in common with the original question. ("Why aren't there more free parking spaces?" Answered "Breakfast is served at 7AM." By the way, breakfast was delicious and quite large, well worth the expense. It was, after all, the staff that created our disappointment and not the facility. So, should you want to stay here, avoid the non-dining room staff and enjoy the facility.