Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abereeenshire

Posted May 25, 2015
Usually love this hotel but reception staff slow and even after phoning twice to ensure twin rooms beside each other I got double rooms miles apart! I then got told in the morning I hadn't paid for a room when I had done at check in!! Painters playing loud music outside our room on a Sunday morning was also very irritating!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of South uist

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff. All facilities looked lovely however we were to busy to try everything. We will hopefully get a chance on our next vis
It was a flying visit. We will explore more when we return to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It Has Seen Better Days

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: The fading grandeur of the reception area
Cons: Rooms and upstairs corridors are in need of re-decoration and maintenance
Location: Not far from the River Ness, the main shopping area and plenty of good pubs. Don't miss the old market opposite either
The reception area is all you could wish for. Grand staircase, stag's heads, faded old-master landscapes and portraits, over-stuffed leather chairs all present and correct. The exhibition of more modern art on the staircase (Andrew J Ward - Face of The Bard) is a nice touch too. Check-in is quick and friendly, then a very slow lift creeps up to the second floor. Here is where the difference is noticed. The green red and yellow colour scheme is somewhat off-putting to say the least. The room does have a comfortable bed. It also has a fine old-fashioned bathroom with a fine old-fashioned bath tub for those who really don't like using hotel showers that much. Sadly there is also an old-fashioned attitude to Wi-Fi with an insistence on jumping through hoops to register, then working out how long you want so that you can pay for it. Sorry, but I expect Wi-Fi in any decent hotel to be free in this day and age. There is also a need for a bit of maintenance and decoration in the room I was in - a screw hanging out of a handrail in the bathroom and a window that could not be left open were two obvious faults. However the location, next door to the station is good. Inverness is not a town where the station is in the nastiest area. They just need to match the rooms to the anticipation raised by the public areas downstairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not worth the money - ultra rude front desk staff

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The front steps insid lobby.
Cons: Everything.
Upon entering we were impressed but our opinion changed quick. Rude front desk staff (older lady) who would not release room keys even five minutes before 3pm so over 50 guests stood in the front lobby to check in. Room was super small with outdated decor and MOLD all over the ceiling in the bathroom. Will never recommend or return ourselves. Disappointed for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: This is still a lovely old grand hotel in a good central location for Inverness shopping. Some superb features with a huge sweeping staircase.
Cons: To make sure that the breakfast is still hot for those who do not make it at the start !
Location: Central with many shops and places to eat.
We had a lovely big room with our dog to the front of the hotel. Staff were very accomodating when we could not find a space for parking as we had turned up pretty late but allowed us to park in the reserved spot at the front door. We came down for breakfast on the late side so the hot buffet was rather luke warm which was a huge pity as the selection and quality of food was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay, run down, but close to station

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom: plumbing, toilet, hot water reception staff: could be more welcoming/friendly
The reception staff were not very helpful or welcoming. The staff serving breakfast however were friendly and warm. The hotel is sort of hidden away from the street and so can be missed when driving. There are a few parking spots outside if you are lucky to get one. Cons: Toilet didn't always flush, the hot water ran out so each night either my partner or myself would have a cold shower, floor is creaky and I was woken up at 3am from someone walking around in their room on the floor above, free wifi is only for 40mins; the limited time was not specified when booking. Pros: Close to station and main tourist areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Erin from Trinidad and Tobago

Great city and hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was great. The service excellent. The decor of the atrium and reception definitely makes you feel like your in Scotland. And the hotel is conveniently located in walking distance of everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cute & Cozy

Posted Jan 5, 2015
While my room was incredibly small, the charm of it & the rest of the hotel made up for that. The shower head was pretty terrible; only a drip of water. Also, the lunch we had at the hotel cafe left much to be desired, but the staff was friendly & accommodating so overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LIXIN from toronto

百年传统老店

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
非常传统的带有贵族气质的百年老店,尽管设施稍微差了些,但是酒店本身还是值得推荐的。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value for city centre

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to shops.
Cons: Food was disappointing, most generous comment about it would be "ok". Breakfast had a great selection, but everything was lukewarm - go before 9.30.
Good sized room and good value bed and breakfast for a central location. Evening meal service was quick but quality of food was a bit disappointing.