Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
bra hotell, trevlig personal, bra frukost centralt läge
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Old town Inverness

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The location of this hotel is great for old town Inverness. However, it's extremely difficult to park if you're driving, and the noise from the street is impossible to escape. Our room was on the second floor, and the street noise from the traffic as well as people was never ending.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abereeenshire

Posted May 25, 2015
Usually love this hotel but reception staff slow and even after phoning twice to ensure twin rooms beside each other I got double rooms miles apart! I then got told in the morning I hadn't paid for a room when I had done at check in!! Painters playing loud music outside our room on a Sunday morning was also very irritating!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of South uist

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff. All facilities looked lovely however we were to busy to try everything. We will hopefully get a chance on our next vis
It was a flying visit. We will explore more when we return to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It Has Seen Better Days

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: The fading grandeur of the reception area
Cons: Rooms and upstairs corridors are in need of re-decoration and maintenance
Location: Not far from the River Ness, the main shopping area and plenty of good pubs. Don't miss the old market opposite either
The reception area is all you could wish for. Grand staircase, stag's heads, faded old-master landscapes and portraits, over-stuffed leather chairs all present and correct. The exhibition of more modern art on the staircase (Andrew J Ward - Face of The Bard) is a nice touch too. Check-in is quick and friendly, then a very slow lift creeps up to the second floor. Here is where the difference is noticed. The green red and yellow colour scheme is somewhat off-putting to say the least. The room does have a comfortable bed. It also has a fine old-fashioned bathroom with a fine old-fashioned bath tub for those who really don't like using hotel showers that much. Sadly there is also an old-fashioned attitude to Wi-Fi with an insistence on jumping through hoops to register, then working out how long you want so that you can pay for it. Sorry, but I expect Wi-Fi in any decent hotel to be free in this day and age. There is also a need for a bit of maintenance and decoration in the room I was in - a screw hanging out of a handrail in the bathroom and a window that could not be left open were two obvious faults. However the location, next door to the station is good. Inverness is not a town where the station is in the nastiest area. They just need to match the rooms to the anticipation raised by the public areas downstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kathryn from Coventry

Good value

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
Good value
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not worth the money - ultra rude front desk staff

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The front steps insid lobby.
Cons: Everything.
Upon entering we were impressed but our opinion changed quick. Rude front desk staff (older lady) who would not release room keys even five minutes before 3pm so over 50 guests stood in the front lobby to check in. Room was super small with outdated decor and MOLD all over the ceiling in the bathroom. Will never recommend or return ourselves. Disappointed for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: This is still a lovely old grand hotel in a good central location for Inverness shopping. Some superb features with a huge sweeping staircase.
Cons: To make sure that the breakfast is still hot for those who do not make it at the start !
Location: Central with many shops and places to eat.
We had a lovely big room with our dog to the front of the hotel. Staff were very accomodating when we could not find a space for parking as we had turned up pretty late but allowed us to park in the reserved spot at the front door. We came down for breakfast on the late side so the hot buffet was rather luke warm which was a huge pity as the selection and quality of food was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ELIZABETH from Kirkcaldy, Fife

Pleasant and clean

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Even though the inside of this hotel needs some updating, overall it was a pleasant and clean room. Very warm overnight but couldn't open any windows, however there was a fan available in the room. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Front desk staff were pleasant but when we showed up 30 mins early for check-in, we were asked to come back later and at no time did she suggest we take advantage of the restaurant etc while we waited...felt this was a lost opportunity on their part. There was also no wifi to speak of. Would stay there again for sure, and the location was brilliant - right next door to the train station!!