Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

A dump

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Awful, old dirty rugs, smelled musty. Just not what I expected. Clean sheets and towels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bennington, VT

Ok for the price

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Needs updating. Would be nice to have a map of the premises to know where things are.
Location: Location was good for me. Little over a mile from my friends house. Was quiet for a downtown area.
AC didn't work very well. But the room was clean and it was a good price. Continental breakfast was ok. Doughnuts, muffins, toast, coffee and cereal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Run down and not clean.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The office staff
Cons: Everything, Needs new Management
We took this motel at the last minute and we are sorry we did. If you like Run down and not clean, Then this is the place for you. The carpets looked like they had not been vacuumed for awhile, The shower Curtin rod was hanging, the shower head did not work right. One light in the bathroom was not working. And the Dusting, we will not go there !! The Office staff was OK, We needed more towels and they were right there behind the desk. the next morning we left the Maid service sign on the door and a small tip on the bed asking for extra towels, The tip was gone when we got back at 5;30 p.m. and there was not a towel or wash cloth in the room. LOL Had to call the front desk again. OK now the big thing, The City seems to close at 8:00 pm, We could not find anywhere to eat except at the collage bars. We had 3 children so could not go there. We found a Pizza place connected to a Subway, That was Great pizza. They closed at 9:00 pm. So that's enough of a rundown, We will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity to most downtown destinations and comfortable (no frills) room. It served its purpose.
Its location is easy to get to, but the area is barren and deals with a lot of panhandlers. The hotel has NO outdoor seating except in the fenced off, barren pool area. Absolutely nothing aesthetically pleasing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karol from NY

On our way home.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: It was cheap and clean. It was also very easy to find.
Cons: Clean up!!
For the price, the hotel was fine. We got in late so we didn't have time to visit any nearby attractions, which was good since the neighborhood the area the hotel is in looked rough. It looked like people were living long-tern on-site too, not just staying overnight. They definately should have someone clean up around the parking lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
1 out of 5
by bRENDA

Got charged for a night a didn't stay for.

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: it was close to my visit.
Cons: they check for any addiditonal reservations under your name and check if u need them or not, if u say you want to check out and you don't need the 2 o
Location: the steamtown maLL IS NICE.
i checked out on the morning of the 18th of aug and they charged me for an additional night stating that i failed to call and cancel my reservation, i told the front desk i was checking out and would not need the addidtional night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Todd from NJ

Cheap, convenient, quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Just about everything
Location: It is right in Central City Scranton, but that says it all. The only reason to go there is if you are a University parent or visitor to Steamtown
This was our third stay. It's in an area of town that many people would avoid, but we have never had any kind of unpleasant incident there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JW from NJ

Inexpensive and close to downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Within easy walking distance of downtown attractions - "Steamtown" was about 10 minute walk.
I was only in the room a very limited amount of time - mostly spent sleeping. Nothing outstanding, but no real negatives either. Area was quiet, not much activity. Dunkin Donuts and gas/minimart on the next block.
1 out of 5
by MBNJ48 from NJ

Center of Downtown Scranton

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: AC Worked, Bed fairly comfortable
Cons: Rooms need complete updating, Easy chairs covered in black dirt and falling apart, Table repainted several times, linens terrible
Location: College
Room was Dirty, Bathroom door would not shut, ceiling coming down in bathroom, no working fan in bathroom, chairs black with dirt, and falling apart, TV reception terrible, Candy wrappers on floor, not vacuumed, burn holes in sheets and blankets, outlet covers loose and falling off, peeling paint in bathroom, wallpaper pealing in main room, ac worked good...bring your own sheets for sure if u stay here! Towels were extremely abrasive and it hurt to dry off with them