Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place - 2 Bedroom apartment, not hotel!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
The room was huge. The place has been converted to all apartments and it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janicefrom new jersey

Convenient city location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Helpful staff Great location Apartment style set up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

Convenience

Posted Oct 19, 2013
It is very close to restaurants, pike market and pier 56. It is right to the public walking area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: It was not a hotel.
Cons: Deliver what was paid for.
Harbor Steps told me they ran out of rooms and put me in a corp. apt. Nice apt. but I needed a hotel with: place to meet clients for dinner, cleaners to press suits, wake up call, work out facility, blow dryer and close to the conference. I will be pursuing any federal interstate commerce regulations that were broken as well as working with my VISA. I did not receive the service I signed up for and there was no effort at assisting me finding a hotel. In addition when I called for a blow dryer I was told it would be $50, "most people bring their own". I will never use Expedia again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not exactly where I thought, but great nonetheless

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Location.
Location: Clarity on exactly where your appartment will be.
Booked thinking I would be actually staying in harbor steps (don't remember reading anything that might suggest otherwise), but ended up in an appartment a 3 or 4 blocks away. When I arrived at harbor steps, I collected my keys and directions to an appartment that was nearly a mile away (so not downtown - which is where I needed to be and why I booked harbor steps!). I called up the local agent and explained that I wasn't happy with this, that I'd expected to be in harbor steps and had planned my three nights based on that. Within 30 mins they'd called back and organised a new appartment just 2 blocks away, but I had to wait 90 mins for a key. Not ideal, but they did at least try. Once actually in the appartment (in a development called 'The Post'), I couldn't fault it. Great location, clean, tidy, secure, everything I needed and more - you could cook a three course dinner in the kitchen!! So, in short, once I was in, great. But initially annoyed that I wasn't where I'd booked and not where I wanted to be. Just be aware that this might happen to you (it happened to someone else in the time I was waiting for the new keys to turn up....who knows how many others?!).
1 out of 5
by Jackiefrom CA

EXPEDIA MISLEADING ACCOMMODATIONS!!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: It was not a hotel, it was an apartment building. zero amenities. Mislead by Expedia to think it was a hotel
Cons: DO NOT MISREPRESENT THE ACTUAL ACCOMMODATIONS. PICTURES OF HOTEL, ROOM AND FACILITY IS NOT WHAT YOU ACTUALLY END UP GETTING.
Location: Location in Seattle is great. If it weren't for this, I would leave this "apartment"
The hotel I booked online and where we actually stayed are two different places. Expedia misrepresents the accommodations. They advertise under the "Harbor Steps Hotel", they mislead you to believe you're staying here. They show pictures of the rooms and list amenities such as pool, work out room, free wifi, free breakfast. We got none of these. When we arrived at Harbor Steps we were handed an envelope full of keys, remotes, and instructions. When I asked the receptionist what this envelope was for, he said he didn't know anything except that this is not where our reservation is. I was very perplexed. It was late, so I took the envelope and drove several blocks away to an apartment building. The accommodations were an apartment with 2 bedrooms with queen beds, living area, eating area, kitchen and two baths. Overall appearance was OK, nothing extraordinary. There were 5 of us, so on one hand it was nice to have the extra space, but on the other, this was not what I booked. There were no amenities whatsoever, not even a blowdryer. In fact, this building is corporate housing. We only stayed 2 nights and that was enough. We had to wash dishes and take out the trash before we left. I would not have a problem with this if this was what I was looking for, but it wasn't. After reading some reviews, which in hindsight I should've read before booking, many other people have had the same experience. Expedia is MISLEADING!! Will never book through them again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading, but turned out well

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Cons: There was no information about check out time, and were slightly surprised when the maid service arrived in the morning (but were on our way out)
The posting notes that you are reserving a room at Harbor Steps (an apartment complex in downtown Seattle). I arrived and was handed a packet and told that they were just the drop off point. I opened the package and the keys and directions were to a different complex in Belltown (about 1 mile away). After some head scratching -- I figured out how to get there, get in the building, and find the room. It was excellent set-up with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and a deck (especially for the price!). The branding in the room was all related to a corporate residential company (Aboda?). Which afterwards I looked up and found that you could book directly through them for the same price I paid through Expedia. Super confusing...but for a girls trip to Seattle it didn't crimp our plans much as it's still very central. The ad is misleading, but for the price I'd do it again and deal with the weirdness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobby

an excellent Seattle location

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: very thoughtful layout, A really well equipped apartment, and a wonderful view of Puget Sound
Cons: very little
Location: close to the Pike Street market, and very convenient to downtown shopping, restaurants and other facilities. Also close to public transport.
harbour steps is extremely well located and very well set up. It made an excellent base for our four days in Seattle and gave us a very real sense of being in the heart of the city.
3 out of 5
by Beccafrom Gainesville, FL

Like a preview of living in the city

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness, the location, and that parking was included and locked up
Cons: The attitude of the staff could be improved. I know it sucks to work in customer service, but at least smile. I'm not a rude person. Just be kind.
When I originally booked the room, my check in was 3pm, then it was changed to 4pm and then when I showed up, my paperwork said 5pm. I showed up hoping I could get up to my room - this was after flying for 15 hours and getting 5 hours of sleep in 72 hours and I just needed to get some sleep. The 5pm check in time I was hoping was a fluke and I could get in to my room and get some sleep. No, turns out I had to wait. The staff the entire time was snobby, short, not very accommodating, rude and I overall was very upset and disappointed with the staff at the desk. The room was so nice! It was clean, it smelled nice, and there was a little welcome bag in the kitchen with some snacks (which super helped when I was stuck apartment hunting for hours and couldn't stop for lunch). It was also nice to be able to do my clothes before I went home so that was something I didn't have to worry about once I landed and before I went back to work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wex

Wish We Would have found this earlier

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Location: easy walk to pike place. near almost everything.
Great place to stay downtown. You get a 2 bedroom apt for cheaper than a hotel. Cant beat that. Check in was a little confusing but that would be my only complaint. We will stay here again.