Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Quick stay over to catch a baseball game.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Close to stadium , pool , exercise room . bar/grill and breakfast included.
Cons: Later hours for pool and bar/grill.
Location: Not much to do in the area after 11 pm.
Shuttle supplied by hotel to stadium. Close enough that we walked back , approximately a 50 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

One night stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Quiet, perfectly close to the Seattle Center and really comfortable beds.
Cons: Some in-house room service options.
Needed a hotel close enough for walking to Seattle Center for event. Was a great way to be ahead of the traffic and easy walk to Space Needle. Very helpful staff, clean rooms and very comfy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are very pleased to hear that our location was convenient to the event you were attending. Our front desk and housekeeping teams work very hard to ensure that each guest is completely satisfied with their stay. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Great hotel, close to the cruise port. The breakfast bar staff was a bit rude and aggressive at the closing hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear verified traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm so glad to hear that you love our location and the close proximity to the cruise ports as much as we do! We're very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our breakfast staff. We are holding a meeting this week and we will be sure to bring this matter to the attention of our staff members. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach, BC

Room on the sixth floor was amazing.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, clean, quiet.
Cons: I would have liked a hot tub.
Location: Space needle, EMP, waterfront, Key Arena.
They didn't have our room available for us, but we were early and they took our bags for us. When we checked in again, the room I booked and paid for still wasn't ready, so the gave us a different room with a king sized bed. It worked out great for us. Nice room, at the end of a hallway with nobody on either side of us. Great view of the space needle. The free breakfast was great. Lots of variety and we took some fruit and yogurt with us for a snack. Location is great. Safeco field offers a shuttle service and this hotel is one they service. 6.00 per person, round trip. Overall, I will stay here again and will be requesting the same room I had this trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chantal, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to get you into a room that you loved! Our apologies for not being able to check you in as soon as you arrived. We absolutely love our view of the Space Needle as well and we are happy you had a room that allowed you to enjoy it from. Our front desk staff is always eager to tell our guests about the Safeco shuttle as it truly is an awesome service that they provide. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, drives us even harder to provide excellent customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

We'll be back

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were so comfy and location was great
Great hotel with great location downtown. We are a young active family. For us this hotel was an easy walk to the space needle and we walked from Pike Market as well. We were in town to watch a couple of MLB games at Safeco field and the hotel has a very convenient shuttle to the games. Pool is a bit small but was never very busy and my kids did not mind at all. Breakfast was very good, crowded at times so go early. Amazing helpful staff at check in who recommended 13 coins for our first Seattle meal. It was the perfect way to start our Seattle holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley BC

nice hotel with a great complimentary breakfast

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: slow elevators
Great stay, 10 minute drive to Safeco, elevators were slow in the hotel and it was very busy. I would stay there again when I return to Seattle as it was pretty close to all the attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Blue Jays in Seattle

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The staff at the front were all very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Room cleaning earlier.
Location: Location is good, we walked to the Space Needle. Also walked to Pikes Market as well as to the ball diamond.
For the cost of an average of $300.00 per night we were very disappointed in the size of the room. It was very small with a bathroom that you had to squeeze in and out of. It was clean, although we didn't get it cleaned one day as they showed up at 4:30 to clean and we were getting ready for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're very sorry you were not satisfied with the price and size of the room. Our prices are competitive with all other hotels in the Seattle area during the busy summer season. I'm glad that your room was neat and clean up to your standards. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome the opportunity to improve. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Convenient

Posted Aug 10, 2014
About a 35 min train and 5 min bus ride from SeaTac. Stayed here for 1 night before Alaskan cruise. 10 min walk to space needle. Great breakfast offering. Took transfer offered by hotel to Pier 66, only took about 5 mins
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Front desk great help

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: Near Space Needle. Can take mono rail and close to Pike's Marketplace.
Front desk was extremely helpful in all aspects of our stay! Rooms above average. Breakfast average. In good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location, helpful staff.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Helpful friendly staff.
Cons: I didn't realize there were smoking rooms, but that wasn't the hotels fault. Check the expedia booking!
Location: Near the space needle and EMP museum.
I mistakenly got a smoking room when I booked on Expedia. Unfortunately the hotel was full, and I couldn't find another available room anywhere nearby . The staff was very helpful, opened and aired out the room, used a lot of air freshener. We bought some Febreze and it turned out okay. The hotel has a great location, and a very good free breakfast. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We got lots of good recommendations on restaurants and transportation. Glad we stayed.