Ratings based on 920 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salem, OR

Beautiful hotel with lots of history!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The staff, beds, robes, terrace pretty much everything!
Location: It's downtown Seattle so it's near everything!
Upon arriving at the hotel my husband and I were upgraded to their honeymoon suite. The room was beautiful! The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and the sheets felt like silk. Our room had a beautiful terrace with a table and chairs with a beautiful view too! We ate in the restaurant downstairs and the food was delicious! The staff were great from the valet to the front desk to the restaurant staff everyone was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The service.
Cons: As noted above.
Location: I went to work and my wife went home.
Having viewed the hotel for a number of years, I understood it to be recommended by many people. I understand, however, the hotel is closing soon for an extensive renovation. I would recommend they address the issues of noise through sweeky floors, hearing someone walk above your room and voice noise through the walls or in an air shaft. Thursday, January 1st, with plans to go into work Friday, we were kept awake until after 1AM by a person on a cell phone calling business friends. After notifying the desk, they said they would help by listening from the hallway on our floor. They returned our call 10 minutes later saying they thought the voice noise was through an air shaft and there wasn't much they could do about it. We doubt they even checked, however, the "voice" stopped about 15 minutes later as our phoner said "...goody by (to) Gerald."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Loved the Sorrento. I was visiting a friend in Swedish Hospital, just a couple of blocks away, and I booked the Sorrento because of its proximity. I was so pleased to discover it was such a gem! Great service, lovely downstairs bar, live music in the lounge, excellent room ... an overall lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

Ah! Luxury!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Location: One block away is St. James Cathedral, a place of great beauty from the architeture to its award winning music to its expression of the Sacred.
I had wanted to stay at the Sorrento for a long time. It's a place of understated elegance. So, New Years' Eve was the time we went to the Sorrento to let go of a difficult year and feel the beauty of life. There is an attention to detail that the hotel quietly pursues, and this conforms to a solid and harmonious expression of beauty everywhere you look. We started a New Year here, resolved to hold beauty as central to the good. Thank you, Sorrento: from the doormen, to the receptionists, to the maids, to the overseers (managers/owners-- who hold the whole thing together)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham, WA

Lovely hotel is a good location.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: I really like the comfortable beds and pillows.
The Sorrento is a great hotel. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are quite nice with very comfortable beds and pillows. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Westlake Center and is also close to several medical facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Flew into to Seattle on a night flight. Sorrento offered historical elegance, with clean, fluffy towels, a comfortable bed, an awesome view of downtown Seattle, and great hotel service. Great food, service, and social influence.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Tiny but still comfy

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Sorrento is a beautiful hotel and I had stayed in a suite previously. The standard room was tiny and not noise free, unfortunately. A bit overpriced for what we got. On a positive note it was clean and comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Cozy and comforting

Posted Dec 11, 2014
I really wanted to like this hotel and, in the end I liked it very much. It is an old hotel, built in 1909 and restored in 1980's. It is a little bit worn around the edges but maintains a warmth and charm. There is a welcoming wood burning fireplace in the lobby that fills the hotel with the smell of an old lodge, comforting on a cold rainy day. The staff is very warm and friendly.They have a courtesy shuttle that will take you downtown if you need it. They have a large supply of umbrellas. The rooms and the bathrooms are small but the bed is very comfortable and the shower has great water pressure. The blowdryer could be updated to provide little more wattage. I'm afraid that I did not like the scent of the shampoo or soap. It was L'Occitane Verbena which smelled a lot like Pinesol. You do hear road noise but it is pretty constant and even with the window open, did not interupt my sleep. The breakfast is wonderful with big crusty sour dough toast and roasted read potatoes. Although the hotel was not physically primped and perfect, I am rating it as excellent because it provided an atmosphere that was most comforting and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom the Ham

Good stay

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Awesome location for Capitol hill and downtown. Vibe. Easy walking distance to Seattle Center, museums, shopping. Staff interacted great with my 9 month old puppy who weighs 80 lbs. stress free visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in seattle

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: -complementary glass of wine or dessert per guest at the restaurant, has live performances -super clean and very comfy bed -Loccitane bath stuff
Cons: -Valet parking is pricey at 39/night -neighbourhood is kind of sketchy, though close to downtown, didn't feel safe walking back at night.
It was a lovely experience and definitely the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in!