Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quirky but convenient

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Low price and convenient.
Cons: Central air might be nice.
Location: Super convenient to the University District and UW. Easy bus access to Downtown and the Seattle Center as well. Don't bother with a car; no parking.
I have never stayed in a hotel like this before, where the showers and toilets are all in shared bathrooms like a college dormitory. In fact, while I stayed here, I did something I hadn't done in ten years - lock myself out of my room when I took a shower. At least when I did that, the staff was quick to let me back in my room. The room itself was comfortable, though somewhat spartan. That's fine, I wouldn't expect much more than that for the price in this location. There is no air conditioning in the building, nor is there an elevator. Breakfast was included in the room price, and was on par with the usual hotel continental breakfast. Not bad, but nothing to write home about either. I was disappointed, however, in my check-in experience. After checking in, the woman at the front desk informed me that my card had been declined, which was odd considering I had already paid. The situation was resolved but only after an hour on the phone with Expedia. (thanks! :) )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kettle Falls, WA

Historic hotel is antiquated

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The bed
Cons: Needs updates and maintenance. Better information needed to find where to check in.
Location: Very busy street - 24 hours - windows open no a/c so heard buses every 10 minutes. University way bustling with stores and food
Read the fine print before staying. No a/c, no bathroom in rooms and bathroom down the hall needs maintenance (shower door wouldn't even close. My light didn't even work. Expansive breakfast = breads, toaster and jam/peanut butter and canned fruit and is in the attic which is VERY hot(remember no a/c). No TV anywhere. Assumed no wifi. Nothing was mentioned. Went through binder in room and found a code which didn't work. Upon checkout was told code was on room key, wasn't mentioned during check-in, which is next door at a convenience store (not mentioned). Bed was the nicest thing in whole hotel. I was traveling with high school students. They were actually stunned into silence. Rooms through Expedia were $150 each. Not worth the money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Great location, sad facilities.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Dirty walls and carpet, broken furniture, tiny rooms. Shared bathrooms are dorm/hostel style, not individual, and extremely small stalls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good for students, 20-somethings

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location
Cons: It needs some minor repairs, and their website needs to be updated in a few places.
Location: The location is definitely the main selling point of this hotel - it's only a block from the UW campus and two blocks from the avenue.
This hotel has the feel of a quiet dorm or hostel: It's an older building, so it could use some upgrades, but they keep it clean and comfortable. As long as you're okay with shared restrooms and the occasional finicky light switch, you'll be quite happy here. Do note that there aren't A/C units int he rooms, but you most likely will never need one in Seattle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great for visitors on a budget

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pefect for those who want to explore the city during the day, and just have a simple room to sleep in at night. Clean, well organised, and very reasonably priced. Shared bathrooms, but they were also clean (with good showers). Good location too - next to the Uni. of Washington campus, so perfect if you are staying behind from a conference to explore the rest of the city. Well connectged by buses that go the Seattle centre and downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not convenient

Posted Jun 27, 2014
This is not really a hotel per say... more like a hostel. There was not front desk, hotel staff was not on duty all day. I have to wait half hour before somebody buzz me into the hotel, and another half hour waiting until the hotel staff come back from dinner so I can check in. However room was fine, service was fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2014
No attached toilets to room. Bad hotel choice for family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Mike from Lehi, UT

Hostel or hotel?

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: location
No air conditioner, no TV, shared bathroom - this place is a hostel other than having shared bedroom. One nice thing: great location across the street from university.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bryson from Dallas

Zero parking

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sooooo...the bed and pillows were the most comfortable ones I've ever had. But I think they charge a bit to much. ($62 for a room with no bathroom...you could get a room with it's own bathroom at Days Inn for the same price.) and there is ZERO parking for a vehicle. I was from out of town and rented a car. I had to park 1.6 miles away. Everything else was 2hrs or permit only(it's on the college campus). It's not bad but to me, the cons out way the pros.