Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible staff.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: A functioning doorbell and phone would be nice, given that late check-in is allowed.
Location: It's on the Wash U campus - so you will need a taxi or bus to reach anything that isn't student-oriented.
The College Inn is a hostel, emphatically and absolutely not a B&B or hotel. The staff were consistently unhelpful. I arrived late at night, and no one answered the doorbell for about 20 minutes, nor did anyone pick up the phone when I called repeatedly. This meant standing in the street with my luggage. Someone exiting the building called one of their friends to open the reception. When I asked if the doorbell was broken, the receptionist shrugged and said yes (no apology), and when I mentioned no one had picked up the phone, told me the phone didn't work if the doorbell was ringing (!??). Absolutely bare bones room, though it was clean. For this amount of money, you can do MUCH better - spend the same amount on airbnb, or spend less on a different hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Tucked away and worth it!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Incredibly comfortable beds! Cute rooms with lots of character and charming architecture. Great location, easy walk to shops for necessities.
Cons: Check-in and check-out was a bit confusing and staff was somewhat hard to track down.
Location: The Bagel and Bean cafe and pub the building is shared with are both well worth your time. Great organic/natural foods grocery store across the street
A great little hotel. I'm local, so I was looking for a budget-friendly stay for a holiday weekend, and since I know my way around the city, I don't mind staying not-downtown. Great, quiet spot in the U district. Super-comfy bed. The shared restrooms and shower worked out fine. The building is older but I find that charming. I will likely revisit for future weekend getaways.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Disappointing!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Clean with a comfortable bed. The person who helped me when I learned that my reservation had been messed up and I was told I didn't have a room.
Cons: The service and reservation process through third parties. There is no television available, iron, or what you would expect in most hotels.
I made this reservation through Expedia and when I called to let them know I was coming in a bit later than expected, they had already called me to let me know they didn't have any room for me. They had overbooked. They finally helped me get a room at a different location, but then I had to move to this location the next night. This ended up working out okay due to the plans I had made with my son, but it still made things hectic. When I at this hotel the next day there was no one available to check me in at the little store and I had to wait until they showed back up. The room was clean and the bed was actually not bad, but that is about all I can say positive about it. The restrooms were down the hall, they too were clean. The building is old and historic, but over a pub. The continental breakfast in the morning left little to be desired. That was very disappointing. I will not stay at this location again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A place to stay in the U District

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Good location & had good view of fireworks!
Cons: More original breakfast? Patch the holes in the inn room walls. Deep cleaning.
Location: Restaurants & bars, though they were all closed for the 4th when I was there...
Easy to get to...person in store that let me in was a bit overwhelmed. He finally found a key for me. He didn't offer info. on wifi & had to come back down to tell him previous password was expired when he let me know about ew one. Room was small but clean enough. Similar to what I read in another review, this spot could stand some serious deep cleaning. Slept OK--a little noisy out on the streets in the campus
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my kind place

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I didn't really like this hotel. It was kind of sketchy, and there was a community bathroom which I didn't like either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

close to University of Washington campus

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: need TV at least. need to tell people that toilet and shower are down the hall.
Location: good location in that it was near the UW campus and close to some decent restaurants
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. No TV, no bathroom, no shower. and very expensive on top of that. The claim this is like a European experience but I've stayed in plenty of European rooms and none were this bad. A truly one-start experience. The furniture in the room was old and worn out. I'll never stay there again even at half the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

ダメ!日本人には向きません。友達には勧めません。

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: 立てられたのが古い(1905年)ので歴史があります。
Cons: 設備を新しくしてほしい
Location: ロケーションはダウンタウンまでバスで15分くらいのいいところです。
部屋の設備は最低です。 机はありますが古い、PCで作業しようと思ってもコンセントが遠くて机の上での作業ができませんでした。 いすは座るところが破れてました。 シャワーは共用でドレインが悪く水がたまってしまいました。修理が必要です。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ワシントン大学のすぐそばにあるホテル

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: 立地
Cons: エレベーター
Location: ワシントン大学のすぐそば
まずチェックインは必ず15:00からしか出来ません。チェックインする時にカードをきる機械が壊れていたため、なかなか手続きが進まなかったです。しかもエクスペディアでもう支払済だったようで、もし機械が壊れていなかったら二重に支払うところでした。 また、エレベーターがないので荷物の多い方はオススメできません。 私の部屋はバスルームから遠く少し面倒だったのと、最初水の出し方が分からなくて苦労しました。引いたら出ます。部屋に洗面所だけついていたので朝顔を洗ったりするのには便利でした。 ロケーションも良いです。観光するにも便利ですし、周りにカフェ、マーケット、銀行などだいたいあります。週末だったせいか、夜中の騒音が少し気になりました。あと、結構隣や上の部屋の歩く音がギシギシ聞こえます。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasco,Wa

Very Disappointed!

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms with new paint, workable window treatments and a thorough cleaning!
Location: The location was good except for the parking problem. Our grandson attends the University so it was convenient for him to meet us at the motel.
We were disappointed in this motel for many reasons. We had requested a second story room and got a third story room. We were not pleased with the shared bathrooms, the room was not clean (dead flies on the walls), the blinds did not completely close so the lights from the street shined into our room all night, it was very noisy and no parking available. I would not recommend this motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Miserable experience.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
No elevator, no closet, no TV, no bathroom. Priced like normal hotel but providing only 1920s flop house amenities.