Ratings based on 1,702 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Labor demonstration in the parking, old tired rooms. Room service woke me up at midnight, knocking on my door - wrong room. Nice bar - that's about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
My husband and I stayed at the Edgewater for our honeymoon and it was the perfect balance between a special, luxurious hotel and a reasonable price (thanks to the Expedia package). The views from the lobby and dining room are spectacular, especially in the evening. The City view room does give you a view of the city skyline, but there are a lot of other industrial type buildings, and the railroad, included in the view too. However, the landscaping on the property is so nice that you don't really notice the less-than-pretty buildings across the street. We are both deep sleepers, but for someone who isn't the train across the street might be disruptive at night. However, the hotel anticipated this and there were complimentary ear plugs in the room for light sleepers. Great location too, walking distance to all big tourist attractions. PHENOMENAL staff. We loved the hotel and if we return to Seattle will definitely be staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view, but service was not good.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The reception people was nice, the view is nice. However, that's all the positive things. We have a bad experience when we try to get help to open a bottle of red wine. We tried to call the room service first, there was a guy answer the phone with a bad attitude and finally even hang up on me. Then we tried to call the front desk to complaint about this, they said there should be no one to answer my call at that time. I knew that it was about 12:30am at that time, but the truth was someone answer my call and hang up on me, and the front desk did not care about this, and with no help. However, it was not worth to stay in this hotel to spend over $600 for a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Very quirky , close to ferry terminal to Victoria

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: It has a history of famous visitors and some ìnteresting photographs, very friendly staff who were most helpful.
Location: We only stayed 1night on our way to Victoria but it seemed very central.
Enjoyable right on the waters edge, able to walk to the ferry!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Great location if you are cruising.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Cons: Try for a water view room for sure ours was fine but faced the city.
Location: Walking distance to the space needle, market, downtown and most important for us was the location to the piers.
Stayed overnight prior to our cruise. The Edgewater is next door to pier 66. Walked over with our bags no problem. When getting back from our cruise the Edgewater kept our luggage while we spent a wonderful day in Seattle and then gave us a ride to the link so we could catch our flight back home. Great service, on the water, nice place to stay. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

WEDDING BLAHS

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: I loved the location of the Hotel. The Hotel staff was wonderful and very accommodating. The décor throughout was very cozy and welcoming.
Cons: I would suggest the Penthouse be a little more updated, perhaps a more elegant look. The "Bear" lamp was cute but not for this Suite. It Needs WOW!
Location: Wear comfy shoes. Pikes Market, Art Galleries & Museums, Shopping, Boardwalk and Boat Tours all walking distance or use public trans. Have Fun!
My best friend of 18 years and partner planned on sharing their special day with 16 of the dearest family and friends at the Edge Water in the Penthouse Suite. To say the least it was a little disappointing. The first two days was spent in the Beatles Suite which was wonderful. The following 3 days in the Penthouse Suite was not so wonderful. The room did not have a "Wow Affect". Unfortunately there were a lot of cosmetic details that needed attention chips on furniture and accessories, light fixtures needing bulbs, sliding door screen not staying on track, boards on deck lose, deck furniture needing to be cleaned. After only being in the room for a few minutes management was notified, hotel staff were brief to address and fix the things needing attention. On the day of the wedding hotel staff did inform us that there were several weddings that same day, which was a Friday night. What they failed to inform us was the nose level that was to come. During my friends wedding ceremony we could hear all the noise coming from the elevators and wedding parties. After returning from our wedding party dinner the music from the ballroom was very loud and in poor taste making it difficult to enjoy the outdoor setting with guest. Most of the guest decided to retreat to their hotels or to their rooms. In addition to the Penthouse , 5 rooms were reserved for guest attending the wedding, all agreed the rooms rather small, not comfortable to spending any length of time in aside for sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

rustic elegance

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel was accommodating and comfortable and beautifully appointed. We paid extra for a room on the water, and it was well worth it. I loved the stone and glass shower, but the bed and pillows were so incredibly comfortable that I woke more refreshed than I have in a long time. And the location was hard to beat! I highly recommend....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Jul 17, 2014
My room was on the 4/F facing the front of the hotel & i could see the top of the Space Needle. had a pleasant & restful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Favorite Seattle Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
History, location and amenities is what keeps us coming back to the Edgewater
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

It's A Liability Issue

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and quiet. The room was a fair size. They were pet friendly.
Cons: The overall attitude of the hotel management/owners -- this Liability Issue" needs review. The decor needs updating. The carpets were dated.
Location: It is within walking distance to Pike Place Markets, SAM Sculpture Park, the Seattle Aquarium, the Pink Door Restaurant, and the Seattle Great Wheel.
For a hotel which promotes itself as a higher end hotel, we heard a lot of "Because of Liability" from the staff. They couldn't make recommendations for services or outings or activities "because of liability." We can understand caution in recommendations. We can understand inability due to hotel policy, but a blanket response of "We can't because of liability," sounds disingenuous and lazy. Most of your guests, I would guess, are from out of town and may need assistance or direction. I would suggest helping them out with a recommendation or two. Other hotels at which we have stayed don't seem to have the liability concerns the Edgewater seems to have. In future, we will stay elsewhere. You need more than a great location; you need great service.