Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sedona

Perfect place for secret retreat yet close to shop

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Lots of fun! Perfect weather, beautiful resort, friendly staff, phenominal spa and close to all the shopping!:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Grand Rapids, MI

Beautiful views

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great views of the red rocks, nice access and view of the pool. Loved the guitar player at night. Was a wonderful vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view and beautiful outdoor setting!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: We liked the amazing courtyard and pool area with the view of the mountains, the lovely amenities and the beautiful rooms.
Cons: The beds were not firm, very soft and sunk in and a small window allowed a lot of light in making it tough to sleep past sunrise.
Location: Located in uptown and near wonderful shops and restaurants. Close to art galleries and all the hiking areas as well!
We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to others. It was also conveniently located in the uptown area near the shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and very service oriented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Great hotel but room is a little small. Friendly five star staff all the way around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Property

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to downtown Sedona
Cons: The property is in need of a general overall renovation
I anticipated that a Kimpton Hotel would have been a uniquely renovated property with special features to offset the age of the property. I have stayed often at the Monaco in Seattle, and other Kimpton properties, and have always been satisfied. The Amara was an exception. When we entered our room, the curtain was torn and the room was aged with few upgrades or improvements typical of Kimpton properties. The housekeeping was marginal. The front desk staff, valet personnel, wait staff and bartender were better than average, friendly and attentive. The pool and spa area were adequate, but lacked the nicer touches you would expect at truly a four or five star facility. Overall, I would provide a "3" star rating to this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Larkspur, CA

Boutique Resort nestled in the Red Rock downtown

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Unique property, comfortable contemporary styling, scenic grounds, saltwater pool, spa
Location: Hiking on the many trails in the red rocks, The Hike House for supplies and maps, art galleries, Tlaquedaque, Etole, Dahl & Delucca and Picazzo to eat
Amara Resort is nestled in the Red Rock above a creek in the downtown strip of Sedona. It is off the main road so quiet yet easily accessible to services. It is a contemporary, boutique style hotel with a decent lounge(live music one night), and restaurant (inside and outside seating) for breakfast and lunch. They serve dinner but we ate elsewhere. The adjacent spa is small but first class at least for the facial and deep tissue massage I had. I would recommend it and and return again. I would ask for a room facing the pool - our first room overlooked a parking area and we moved after the first night. Valet parking is included and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Pool, Views, Atmosphere
Cons: The mattresses could be a little softer
Location: In the middle of Sedona. Everything is in walking distance.
We only stayed there 2 nights. It is a great resort type place. Excellent facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vicky from Chicago, IL

Classy Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, view and staff
The staff was genuinely friendly and nice. The pool is beautiful and has an amazing view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Portland, OR

Perfect resort in Sedona

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, amenities, grounds.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Perfect location for exploring Sedona's hiking trails and running off to the Grand Canyon for a day.
We spent 3 nights at the Amara and plan to return. The location is ideal - off the main road of Sedona, but down a steep hill to what feels like a private canyon backing into beautiful rock views. The staff is super friendly, the size of the resort makes it feel intimate, but still airy. The pool and grounds are lovely. Our kids were thrilled to have the pool and hot tub to themselves most times. We had a fabulous dinner in the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed the complimentary and generous wine pours in the lobby every evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pluses and minuses

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The views and the peacefulness of the river beneath the pool.
Cons: In the restaurant, if the main courses won't be any bigger, at least make the side salads larger for the prices charged.
Location: The Pink Jeep Tour that goes to the cliff dwellings was super informative and the closest you'll get to one with an expert guide.
We booked through Expedia as a mystery spot and the reservation ended up with one king size bed even though we registered with 3 adults. Amara had no other rooms, so we needed a fold out cot to be brought in. That cot was uncomfortable, so overall, the room comfort and the lack of compassion over this being what happened is why I'm just OK with the accommodations. Additionally, I had to ask two separate times to finally get the cot. The facilities are nice, otherwise and the patio view is fantastic. Expect high prices at the on site restaurant and really small portions. It was difficult to not find this arrangement pretentious even though the artistry of each tiny piece of the meal is really high quality.