Ratings based on 978 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surprise, AZ

Not a hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
It is like a small condo. It smells like a motel, you want to sleep with your clothing on. The decor is cheap and dated. The countertop in the kitchette is painted to look like stone, same with the bathroom. The old shower-tub is small you are up against the plastic curtain. The walls have dark marks. The metal entrance door has dents. It is a downer. It is a noisy, raunchy timeshare. I will never join a timeshare and was not pleased to find out we had to stay in this dump. The location is great, it is near a real place called famous pizza which was a true gem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

OK hotel. Far from town.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: ????
Cons: Hot tub, TV
Location: Beautiful scenery.
Hot tub did not work. Kept giving us an excuse that it was being looked into. TV in unit attached to wall awkwardly and made it hard for two people to watch comfortly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice rooms, but lose the time share pitch

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms, location
Cons: Lose the time share pitch
Location: hiking, biking, few restaurants, outlet mall
Room was clean, well equipped with kitchenette and king bed. Location was great, next to hiking trails, nice views, if you ignore the busy road. Didn't know it was a time share; we were getting the sales pitch even before we got there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Outside of town

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Comfy meeting your needs
Cons: Do something to hide apartments adjacent to resort.
Location: Close to golf course and art stores
Nice place to stay if you like being away from other resorts. Close to golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
it was a wonderful place to stay..the rooms were huge and very clean..it was close to town and the view was perfect
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bermuda

Disappointing Room

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Location: Great location!
When we checked in we were greeted by very friendly staff members that advised us we had been upgraded! We were really excited but our excitement was soon shattered when we found we were put in a room outside of the dog run where people brought their dogs to "do their business" on the ground floor facing a wall. No beautiful view at all of the beautiful Sedona view we came to see.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Time Share Resort-we are not members.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
When we got to Bell Rock Inn, the front desk clerk said we didn't have reservations and I showed her my confirmation number and she called Expedia and told them. Well they said they would clean a room for us and it would take a couple hours and they would call us when it was ready. They called us around 2 hours later and told us the room was ready, but when we got there they said they didn't have a room for us. I said you'll need to find one for us since they had told us they had one. We did finally get a room, but it was the worst experience ever! Expedia should not book rooms with Time Share Resorts because I wasn't treated well at all. Very disappointed!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback though it disappoints us to read your less than positive experience at the resort. We can assure you that it is not typical that we would not receive a reservation from Expedia although the situation could have been handled better by the front desk agents involved. We hope our genuineness was evident to you when you spoke to our General Manager following your stay. Thank you for accepting our sincere apology for any inconvenience you were caused. We hope that you will give us a second opportunity to provide you with a wonderful stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback as it assists us to provide better service to all of our valued guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Staff and manager

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Our room and the excellent care we received from Stephanie Orbe.
Cons: Better checking out staff
Location: We were in Sedona everything is beautiful so we were satisfied with the location.
We were not happy with the check out staff as they had been told by expedia that even though we had informed them we would not be staying a second night due to my husbands disability we would be charged anyway. However, we spoke with a Stephanie Orbe with the Diamond Resorts and she stated we should not be charged for a night we would not be staying. We also met her the previous day and since there is no elevator in the resort she was kind enough to asap find us a room on the first floor with not hassles we think that she is an excellent example of hotel management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be back!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: I loved the kitchen and the 2 bathrooms.
Just spent one night in Sedona, but when I return for a longer stay, the Bell Rock Inn will be where I go!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bed and breakfast feel with the perks of a hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: comforts
great place to stay. The room had a lot of space and a real coffee pot! Spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly- a little pushy on time share purchasing and the guy who tried to sell it to us had a dry sense of humor that came across as sarcasm. Once you get passed that obstacle, it was worth the money and we would definitely stay there again.