Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Waterloo outlet but very dated and dirty

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Would never expect this from a Holiday Inn, shocking how aged and dirty our room was, dirty carpet at least 2 inches of dirt and dust behind the bed and a used dirty Kleenex. The bathroom sink would take for ever to drain. The vanity itself falling apart.. Kept together with caulking! The tub drain broken, forget taking a bath..not that I would sit in that tub!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for the concerns that you had during your stay. We have forwarded your comments to the Housekeeping and Maintenance departments. We appreciate your feedback, and we are moving forward to make sure these issues do not repeat themselves in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The front desk person we had when we checked in was very friendly and helpful! The hotel was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. It makes us very happy to read that you found our staff to be friendly and the hotel clean and comfortable. Please come back and visit us once again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near the main shopping mall.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness
Cons: Have a low setting for the ventilation, it was either hurricane level 5 or hurricane level 1.
Everything went smoothly as expected, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that everything went smoothly and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will ensure that the staff is made aware of your comments. Please come back and visit us once again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Very close to the Waterloo Premium Outlets

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It has restaurant in the hotel that serves all meals plus kids eat free.
Cons: The mattresses on both beds in our room need to be changed and the bathroom drains need to be cleaned out
Location: Walmart is a walk across the field. Waterloo Premium Outlets, approx 5 miles away. Restaurant: Magee Country Dinner, inexpensive & delicious meal
Hotel was very clean, next door to Walmart, very close to the Outlets. Little odd that the beds are double size, rather than queen size plus the mattress are very uncomfortable. Fridge and microwave in room, especially if you are staying for more than one night. Bathroom was a good size, but the sink and tub didn't drain very well. We purchased the complimentary breakfast for 2 adults; however we were unaware kids eat free (Bonus).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was very happy to read that you found our hotel to be clean but very sorry to read that your beds were uncomfortable. Please accept our apologies. All of our rooms do have a fridge and microwave in the room and it was nice to read that you appreciated that. Please come back and visit us if you are ever in our aea in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Room is old. AC is loud. Room smells bad. Breakfast is not free for everybody. Will double charge you if you don't check your credit card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so sorry that you felt we tried to double charge your card and that you thought our rooms were old. While we are not a brand new property, we do update our rooms frequently and maintain them so that they are always clean and inviting. I am not sure why you felt we tried to double charge your card. Perhaps what you saw was an authorization and a charge to your card. Sometimes that is confusing and can be misconstrued. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you encountered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

convenient hotel, close to seneca lake

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The fact that the room was clean, the staff was friendly and that the complementary coffee pots were always available. It also has a tennis court.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: It is close to seneca lake and geneva, ny and all of the wineries.
The restaurant was a little disappointing from other visits because the portion sizes of all meals have been reduced. I would rather they keep offering the same quality and quantity and just raise the price of the meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our hotel and restaurant. i am so sorry that you found our portion sizes reduced and that you were disappointed. I will make sure that our chef and restaurant manager are made aware of your comments. If you are once again in our area, please give us another try!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Average, clean Holiday Inn

Posted Aug 3, 2014
This hotel is located in Waterloo... Which is at the beginning of the finger lakes wine region. We thought it was a little out of the way to all the activities (Watkins Glen) and once it's night time there's not much dining options around (except McDonald, Tim Hortons). There's also a Walmart nearby. The hotel is average. Tired looking carpet and bedding but it serves the purpose of a place to sleep. The staff is nice and there's a bar/lounge on premise to grab a drink.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Danielle, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry though that you felt our carpet and bedding was tired looking. We do strive for guest satisfaction and I am sorry we let you down. I was very happy to read that you felt our staff was nice and that you enjoyed our bar. Please come back and visit us once again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Staff is friendly but not the Restaurant

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Bed is comfortable
We check in 2nd floor with NO elevator in the building, we have to carried all our luggage to 2nd floor at 11 pm. The room is clean and bed is comfortable which make us feel better after all the walking up and down transfer the luggage. Next morning, we visit the restaurant for breakfast at 10 am. After sit down at the table, all I hear is the staff were talking about they are in hurry to get ready for lunch... if so why they still let us in for breakfast?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate your feedback. Also, we apologize for the shortcomings that you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, the no elevator to that section of the building is unavoidable. I have passed your comments on to the F&B manager regarding the Cafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place but had a few issues

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The location was good as we were interested in shopping at the Waterloo Outlet Mall. It was only 10 minutes away
Cons: The restaurant is privately run and going through a learning phase with two different servers training. The service was not that good but the food was
Location: Shopping
The pool area was very nice and the room was ok. It had a musty odor but that may have been from the AC. Was not to bad though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are so pleased that you enjoyed our pool area and your stay. I am sorry that your room seemed to have a musty odor. We do strive to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied with their stay. In the future, if you encounter something like this, please let us know so that we can take steps to find the issue and rectify it! Again, thank you for your comments and please visit us once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Very clean and up to date. The wi-fi was good as well
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you can stay with us again soon!