Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice residence/hotel for those with a longer stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
me and my sister went on vacation to seoul for the first time and didn't have any relatives or connections to stay during our trip. we found the daelim residence to be a great place to stay if you plan on staying more than 3 days in seoul and looking for a more realistic price range. if your looking for a reasonable price and a good place to stay I would recommend this place. the stay was very comfortable, the staff, especially the owner, mr. jang, is a very nice man and helpful with any questions you might have. for the location it was not located directly in a tourist attraction area but taking the subway to the attractions is only a 5 minute walk from the residence. the subway system leads to all the areas you want to visit in seoul. me and my sister used the subway to get to every location we visited so it was great (or if you prefer taxis or the bus, they are easily accessible as well, mr. jang is helpful with any question you may have). the residence is also located 5 min. away, near an the airport bus station which can take to you/from the international airports. the stay felt very homey unlike luxury hotels but includes everything you need for your stay. me and my sister enjoyed our week long stay in the residence and had no complaints during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

10 minutes to metro

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Convenient for short stayover. Made to feel welcome. Able to check in early a plus after overnight flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Seoul

Great Stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: It was clean and had lots of amenities, like a washer, cable tv, two comfy double beds, pots and pans, and silverware.
Cons: I don't have any complaints. Maybe put clearer directions on the website. Which exit to come out of and all that.
Location: It's next to shopping and it's next to the subway, so you have easy access to the rest of Seoul.
It was great! It was an awesome home away from home. The staff was super friendly and helped us to get situated. I would definitely recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mehdi from Sydney

Highly recommended A++++ Value for money

Posted Apr 26, 2014
We had a great stay The staff including manager were so helpful 5min walk to Guru station where you can travel to anywhere in Seuol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away from Home

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Has a little kitchen, laundry machine, nice bathroom, spacious room and a personal computer. Friendly staff. 30-40 minute subway ride to popular places in Seoul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth

Great staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The location was nice being close to the rail station and a huge mall. Not a lot to do as far as walking distance. But it was nice to enjoy local culture while in that area walking around. Lots of restaurants all around. Such friendly staff. The hotel was nice, provided all the things we needed. We were comfortable. Wi-fi, air conditioner, desktop computer, TV all worked gteat. Never ran out of hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I feel somewhat disappointed.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and subway station was close.
Cons: those things I mentioned in above. and don't delete my review. I feel like they delete reviews they don't like.
Location: it's just really close from the bus station and Guro subway station as well.
All in all, I was satisfied but there were somethings I just really didn't like. Room was very clean and I liked that a lot. but whenever I let my room clean, they always forgot something they were supposed to do. for example, tissue box was still empty. they forgot to give free new 2 water bottles. and they even took away those shower towels and forgot to replace them as new ones. when I came back to my room and noticed there was no towel at all, I really didn't feel good about that. Also, they have an air cleaner machine in a room, which I thought it was awesome at first. but those filters they use for those machines run out way too fast. Every time they clean rooms, they are supposed to replace those old filters as new ones but those new batteries didn't even go longer than 2 hours. I felt like that air cleaner was actually helping to make the air fresh but it was really annoying the machine doesn't work longer than 2 hours because of those filters. and the key! there is some sort of little light bulb hanging on the key and i don't know why they use those light bulbs with keys. they are very weak and it can be easily broken. Once they handed me those keys, they were already very weak and I had to be extremely careful every time I touched them. It was kind of stressful. I just hope they don't use that light bulb anymore or at least change them as some soft things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from San Francisco, CA

Incredible value. Perfect for extended stay.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Value, amenities, proximity to metro station and bus stops.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: AK Department Store is between the hotel and the Guro Metro Station. AK features also features a great, but inexpensive food court in the basement.
We had a fantastic stay at the Daelim Residence! This was our first experience in a residence-type hotel of any kind outside of the US. I guess the closest comparison would be to a Extended Stay America in amenities or an efficiency-type apartment. Our standard room featured a comfortable queen-sized bed, a kitchenette with a built-in, full-sized washing machine, a refrigerator with a bottom freezer and a balcony/dining area. Because of the washing machine, we could have been fine with packing just a few days worth of clothes rather than having packed 9-days worth for our trip. There was no dryer, so we hang-dried. It also had an iron and board. We've generally stay in 4-star hotels whenever we travel with our decision to stay being heavily influenced by traveler's reviews. For us, the Daelim Residence was great! The owner-operated, so if there is anything that you need, the owner, Mr. Jang, will be at your service. Actually, when you check in, he will come up to your room to explain how everything works from the washing machine to the thermostat to the TV. The money saved by staying here paid for our daily meals and transportation. Now, that's a great value proposition! The hotel is about 5-min walk to Guro Station from which you can go directly to downtown Seoul on line 1 (takes about 35 minutes door-to-door). We took taxis often with a 15-min ride being about seven bucks. We bought our groceries from a supermarket at the basement of a dept store called AK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jake from Philippines

New Years Family Pleasure trip

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Daelim Residence made our Seoul trip an unforgettable experience. The rooms are comfy and complete with amenities, made us feel like we were at our own home.The owner, mr Jang is hands on in taking care of his guests. He was very hospitable. During our return trip to Manila, we were already at the airport when I noticed that my back pack was missing. I called up me Jang to check if my bag was there. He immediately asked his son to take personally take it to me at the airport. For that, I will forever be grateful. il definitely recommend Daelim residence to relatives and friends who will be travelling to Seoul. If we go back to Korea, we would definitely stay at Daelim again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com