Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, with great location in Seoul

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Cons: I would add a bed/cover sheet, between the fitted mattress sheet and the duvet cover.
The hotel was in a great location. Very close to the subway (easy to understand the various lines) and also close to other major areas (Myongdong, Dongdaemoon, and Insadong) all within a 5-10 minute cab ride. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were very clean, a tad small, but I think most rooms in Korea are. The only thing that I would recommend is that they have a bed/cover sheet. They only had a fitted sheet (that we slept on) and the duvet (which covered us), which we were pretty certain the duvet cover was not changed each night. Other than that critique, the hotel was great and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Seoul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Seattle

Comfortable

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Other than the Wifi I have nothing bad to say and was pleased overall. Warm pool and hot tub were nice during my cold weather stay.
Cons: A reasonable price of a cup of coffer, 12000 kw was a bit much for just a latte.
Location: All was good, short walk to the subway. It is uphill coming back to the Hotel so you need to take that into consideration at the end of a long day.
Staff was very nice and helpful, the lack of free wifi in the hotel rooms is a little behind the times. The cost to hook to wifi is way above normal, 18000 kw for an hr if memory serves. My understanding is this is to change after the first of the year. So if this is important to you please check prior to booking. Nice little convenience store across the street and down a half block, better than the 7-11 by far. Subway is down at the bottom of the hill, say a block and a half to two blocks. The K Bus from the Inchon Airport works the best going both ways, stops right at the Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allan from LA

Walking distance to Dongdamen

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Great location, stay at this hotel twice a year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sumi from Florida

Great hotel overall but bedding needs improvements

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Location. Room amenities
Cons: Bed Mattress. Needs to consider all kind of conditions (many people like soft or mid firm but to assume all are Ok with firm, is not wise)
Location is excellent. I enjoyed my stay. Staff were very helpful. Restaurant (King) was very good. Room was very comfortable. Exception is bed mattress. Very hard and caused me pain. Also the lounge food was not good, and so if you plan to use the lounge for dinner, you should change your plans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Good location. Short taxi ride to most central attrations. Underground station 5-7 monutes walk away. Comfortable hotel and good breakfast. Very good 4 star hotel. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howard from San Jose, CA

Near to Nam-San trail

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Had a chance to enjoy a walking trail in the Nam-San and the Dong-Kuk university campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great Service

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The friendly service and attractive decor.
Cons: The fact that you pay for the Internet.
Location: The hotel is close to many of the main attractions, yet Seoul is a very large city and you will still need to take cabs to some of your destinations.
The Grand Ambassador is a modern and well appointed hotel in the hub of Seoul's historical area, which means perfect for an introduction to the beauty of Korea's ancient culture. The hotel itself is very attractive, modern and well maintained and the staff are ready and available to help you in fluent English. I have stayed at this hotel twice in seven years and my positive experience never changed. My one disappointment was that they charge for Internet access, and each time you log out and go back in again you are charged for an hour--and on some occasions it 'timed out' and still charged me for the full hour.( When I pointed this out, however, they did give me a rebate, without too much fuss.) So, if you do use the Internet you will want to make sure you understand how this system works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Lancashire, UK

Great hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Great staff who all spoke English and who were only too happy to help.
Cons: Expensive restaurants and bars.
Location: Right near the Soeul tower, with a free to use hop on hop off hourly shuttle bus to all the major tourist spots. Near to coffee shops and bakeries.
The hotel was lovely - comfy bed, very clean and with everything you need in a room. The staff all spoke English and were extremely helpful. We booked a couple of trips through hotel staff with no problems at all. The hourly hotel shuttle bus which was free to use was brilliant. It took us directly to all the major tourist spots - myengdong, dongdemun and insa dong. The only slight downside was the price of the hotel restaurants and bars, which were extremely expensive but that is only to be expected really.
3 out of 5
by Batool from Hawaii

Too Expensive

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Clean, Staff great.
Cons: lower their food price
Location: location is walking distance to most buses and taxi are cheap and they have shuttle free for few places
the rooms are great and the location ok but everything at the hotel is expensive, Breakfast is $35 per person, Happy hour $30 per person sometimes woman get half off.