Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MY from singapore

Good location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Good location. Generally pleasant environment.
Cons: Nothing much really.
Good access to a few tourist spots (gyeongbukgong palace, insadong, samcheong dong and the seoul city bus pick up point) and the subway station (anguk). Plenty of meal options nearby. Staff are pleasant and speak fluent English. They will not volunteer to help but if you ask, you will certainly be satisfied with their answers/actions. We stayed in a studio and the size was just right for two. Breakfast buffet was basic (compared to what Asian hotels offer). Nevertheless, it was enough for one to have a satisfactory meal before you start your day. Would stay here if we return to Seoul.
1 out of 5
by John

Low Expectations

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location remains, obviously, excellent.
I made a simple request to be on a high floor and away from the elevators (that is, for a quiet room). Sure enough, the hotel put me on the lowest floor closest to the elevator. Didn't make much of an effort to improve the situation. I had stayed at Somerset five or six times in the past decade and clearly the hotel is in a tailspin. It seems to cater to loud tour groups. There are almost no amenities (a single, all-purpose bottle of shower gel, shampoo, conditioner).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ideal art and history location

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is near one end of town, but near some of the main attractions. It is between Insa-dong, which has an art theme and plenty of good restaurants, and the Gyeogbokgung palace. The rooms were clean and staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Philip Storey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by S & L from South Carolina

Great location in Seoul

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to many sites of interest, shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carbo from Toronto

Good Location, Excellent Service

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Guest service, location, facilities and very safe
Cons: New furniture
Location: Visited some palaces, restaurants and museum.
Very good and safe location with police around all the times. Room is spacious and clean. Exceptional guest service, most of the staff speak very fluent English. I will definitely recommend this serviced residence to others. Bravo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V A from Sydney

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Great location. Near Insadong & palace. Handy to subway & other areas in main part of Seoul. Great size room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harold from USA

Good for business or tourism

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was pretty good compared to some others I've stayed at in Seoul. The price is good, the room was good too, except that there are only a couple of electric outlets in the room - it was very hard to position the ironing board due to the lack of outlets (I had to move the dining table to get to an available outlet)... good news; there was a dining table! The room was very spacious and quiet. There are plenty of good places to eat, both in the hotel and in the very nearby Insedong shopping area. Its right across the street from Microsoft, the palace, and a bunch of other stuff. I'd stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David B from London

Very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Somerset Palace was a very clean, quiet and well equipped place for me to spend 9 nights. It's well located for Central Seoul and also a short walk to a metro station. The staff are impeccable and very attentive. The room was full equipped and kept very clean. It's a modern hotel style building with serviced apartments. I would recommend Somerset Palace over most other 4 star hotels in Seoul.