Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by uk, 30, white from uk

Just a place to sleep

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Two computers in room - ace. Breakfast is basically self serve toast. No air con Hard bed No wardrobe This is intended as a single (fun) night kind of "hotel".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by michael from japan

best to stay for going around the city

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot ask for more. Very helpful staff and awesome room. Wi-Fi is fast and there are computers available inside the room so there's no need to bring your laptops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by adam from Singapore

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Big samsung TV , jacuzzi bath and good toiletry items and free bar drinks. Wifi if possible if it available in English. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Hotel could be improve to make it more prominent as it has excellent facilities. More greenery can be placed at the exterior stairway exit area. Excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Walking Distance to Subway/ everything new but non smoking rooms smells like cigarettes

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Everything was in good shape and clean. the only complaint I have is that the non-smoking room smelled like cigarettes. A very strong smell, that seeped into the walls. many restaurants near by are open late.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
the staff was delightful and very willing to help. I was led to believe that English would not be a problem but English was minimal. Also, there are no drawers in the room which necessitated clever unpacking and making our suitcases into "drawers". I may not stay here again because there is no way to keep the room neat without drawers and/or closets. I was grateful for the computer, computer access, and television.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel VIV-Where u dont get what u paid for

Posted Nov 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
I booked for 3 people. My wife, my sister in law and myself. Obviously I paid the fare for 3 people with breakfast. The room was really clean and neat but there were 2 major issues: 1- We only got a double bed for 3 people and after one and a half hours of discussion with their real poor English, they finally gave me a (fold-able) temporary bed, which by the way wasnt clean. When I asked them to call Hotels.com either in Australia or Korea, they said they dont have outgoing international calls and the Korean office was closed! 2-For breakfast we only got 2 toasts with a small jam (of the type you get in the airplanes) with a small cup of juice. Realistically I paid extra for breakfast but I only got a snack for a kid. So overall I donot recommend Hotel VIV at all, unless you make sure you have in writing about what you are getting. Also you should have the initiation of calling Hotels.com from your own phone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel VIV in Seoul - OK but not the best option

Posted Nov 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
While the hotel looks really new and staff are friendly and helpful, the location doesn't give it much credit. A 12-15-min walk to the nearest subway station, and a need to transfer trains to get to major attractions, deter us from coming back to the hotel to drop our heavy shopping stuffs and get back out again. otherwise, take a taxi. Room – NO WARDROBE. No shelvings for stuffs. Only 2 hangers, a study table and a little breakfast table. So, needs some creative thinking to where you can organise your daily stuffs. No personal safe deposit box either. Not even at the front desk. While there's a bathroom door, there isn't a shower screen or curtain so expect wet and slippery floors after a shower. Toiletries provided except toothbrushes. Daily breakfast (fruit jam sandwiches, juice and milk) provided is a nice touch but we passed. Staff and Hotel – Staff are friendly and helpful, only some of them with limited English. But speaking slowly and simply, we got by. Hotel lobby provides complimentary water, juices, coffee and popcorn which i think is a nice touch of hospitality. Surroundings – This is basically a love hotel as there are a lot of couples here for a night's stay or shorter. There are quite a number of girly bars and nightclubs around this area, but no one bothers us. There are a handful of convenience stores up and down the street, and we spotted a few good Korean restaurants too. Others – Airport Bus 6013 stops about one block up the hotel (outside Gyeongnam Hotel), so you need to walk back about 3min (against the traffic direction) For the way back to airport, you have to go across the road (where you alight) to take the airport bus. I would think this hotel is clean, comfortable and decent enough if you are not the fussy type about room organisation or walking a bit to subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Davao City, Philippines

Hotel VIV in Seoul, Korea- clean, nice & comfy

Posted Nov 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is first of all very clean, always provided with clean towels, sheets, bathrobes and toiletries daily, the receptionists are accommodating, the neighborhood is quiet and safe, there are available cafes and restaurants nearby. The nearest subway station (Pyeongyang Station) is about 10 minutes walk, but if you dont want to walk you can always ride the green bus (bus stop station just infront of the hotel) the airport bus station is about 2-3 min. walk from the hotel. The only lacking in this hotel is a closet/locker where you can put your belongings and the free breakfast which are 2 slices of bread with strawberry jam in it served daily. But all in all, I still recommend this hotel and stay here on my next visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sasha from Queanbeyan, Australia

A very nice place even though it is used as a love hotel.

Posted Oct 26, 2011
Location: Myeong-dong for shopping, Itaewon and Gangnam for nightlife, and the palaces for sightseeing.
Firstly, I'll say that the rooms are new and clean, with a very comfortable bathroom and a massive TV on the wall. There are 2 computers with free internet access, (no free wifi), but the room is a little on the small side. Secondly, it is obvious that this hotel is used as a love hotel. The first sign is that the parking entrance is half curtained for discreteness, and cars that are parked in there have their licence plates covered. At the end of the TV channel spectrum, there are a couple of soft porn stations. Surrounding hotels are similar and there are a few 'sexy' clubs around the hotel. In saying this however, the hotel did not feel sleazy, nor did I feel unsafe. The rooms are very clean, however they only provide one large towel when two people are staying there. You pretty much have to ask for another towel every time. There is no English guide to explain the room features or remote control functionality, so when I woke up in the middle of the first night and found the room hot and the in-floor heating on, I had no idea what to do....but after pressing some buttons on the remote and funky toilet, it seemed better after that. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are many places to eat in the surrounding area. (Pizza School is worth a try). Complementary breakfast was a jam sandwich and a small orange juice. Overall I was quite happy with the place but I wouldn't recommend it to families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

If you can help it, try not to stay here.

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a love hotel/motel. It does not come with wardrobes and has no wifi. There are no doors for the bathroom so it can be very chilly to take a bath in the big room. It is also far away from the places of interest in Seoul. The nearest subway station is more than 15 min walk away from the hotel. It takes close to an hour to get from the hotel to Myeondong, Insadong or COEX (including walking to the subway station, taking the subway, changing trains, etc). It's just too much of a hassle.