Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by DBT from Australia

True Tuscan experience

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were blown away by the frescoes, the Tuscan gardens, the service and food. True Italian villa experience. Very classy old Italian hotel. We would definitely come back again.
2 out of 5
by Isabel from England

Good hotel for a quiet stay away from the city

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Interesting history of the villa
Cons: Old saggy matress and bites received (probably from bedbugs).
Location: quiet location
An interesting quiet location with plenty of history. Pool and garden are handy to relax. Breakfast and food were mediocre.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Debby

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was probably a nice place many years ago but it's pretty run down and not taken care of. The hotel and grounds are no where near what the pictures show or the descriptions are. The owner and staff are really nice but I would not go back and wouldn't recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Solo Woman

A fantastic old palazzo in a beautiful garden.

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
A truly amazing place to stay, with frescoed walls, formal Italian gardens and a pool. The Contessa Cristina Villoresi had many interesting stories about her personal life and the city of Florence. The palazzo is accessible by public transportation for the truly dedicated, but it is really is much better to go by car. I wish I could have stayed longer as the atmosphere was old worldly but very relaxing. The rooms were very clean and the staff was attentive and helpful. There are long, steep flights of stairs and no apparent elevators, but staff was there to carry bagss up and down. I would highly recommend this as a unique experience in Florentine living.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family Faber from London, UK

Great for families

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: The beautiful interior
Cons: The price in the restaurant
Location: Minutes away from Florence so perfect for people who want to explore but still want the comfort of having the pool and a large bedroom
A beautiful and personal service in a stunning family home, Cristina welcomes you with a smile and all her staff were wonderful. Our three children absolutely loved it and will remember their stay in "the castle" for years to come. Definitely recommend for people who are looking for something different!
3 out of 5
by Yann from San Francisco, CA

Just ok

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: The Garden
Cons: The room
Location: A bit far from Florence, 20mn drive
nice change compare to hotels, but the room we got was really small, not particularly comfortable, old in a bad way. The garden and pool are nice, the staff is nice too. Wifi works in the lobby. Breakfast is basic. It's about 20mn drive from the center of Florence.
3 out of 5
by elik

unique atmosphere

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: The atmosphere and the pool are great
Cons: Small bathrooms and poor breakfast
Very special place with unique atmosphere. Nice pool and sitting area However the place is a bit rundown. mattress and linen are old, very small bath room. Poor breakfast buffet .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kelvin

A Step back in time

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very impressive and Christina and her staff were very friendly and helpful. The food offered by the hotel did seem quite expensive and our room was fairly small & awkward. I found the location of the hotel a bit difficult and the local area did not have many restuarants,The swimming Pool was excellent and the overall impression of the hotel more than compensated for any downsides. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from London, UK

3 daysin Florence

Posted Jul 22, 2012
Pros: The character
Cons: Room
Location: Near to Florence
Wonderul hotel, was like going back in time. Staff helpful owner made you feel like you were part of her home. Little disappointed with room but even so a really lovely hotel. Food good