Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, great pub and meal walking distance
Cons: New pillows
Experienced noise from function downstairs, but finished at a reasonable time. The room was large and clean, however the bed felt like it needed to be replaced and the pillows should have been renewed some time ago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

A mixed reaction

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Just about everything
Location: National Trust properties
Having to book in a hurry, I relied on the fact it was part of Great Western, and only then read the reviews, many of which were alarming. Having prepaid we had no option but to go ahead. It is rather shabby. Apparently due for refurbishment in 2015. I'm surprised Great Western allow this state of affairs to persist. It will be a major undertaking. Rooms are cramped and poorly designed and need better sound proofing. Perhaps it would be best to start from scratch. Despite some unfavourable comments the young staff were superb, Dinner good especially the desserts, and breakfast hearty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly awful experience...waste of money

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Modernisation and clean rooms
Hair was on the mattress when I pulled back the bed sheets iPod docking station didn't work No towel rail to dry towels Decor is horrific for price of room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little faded

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Good size room clean but faded, particularly bathroom. Apart from 'fizzy orange segments' Good breakfast and quality of dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Norfolk UK

Quiet & Convienient

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Not a bad place to stay, has a few flaws but overall pretty good. I would stay here again if the need arose.
3 out of 5
by Jeremy from Poole, Dorset

Needs refurbishing!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Delightful period dining room, good food and pleasant staff - many from the Balkans. Other public areas and bedrooms functional but dreadfully tired and shabby. Dim lighting, worn furnishings and awful d├ęcor. Adequate for a single night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jml from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK

A good review!

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Stayed for 4 nights to attend a wedding. Other members of the family stayed as well. The staff were always courteous and extremely helpful. All members of the family liked their rooms. The hotel has had some average reveiws but we had a great time there. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat in the evening. A lovely location. Smallish swimming pool was lovely and warm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Manchester, UK

Almost there

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Decor not as garish as some reviews state. Generally good, just missing out for stupid reasons. eg: free wifi but they give a printed slip for duration eg 24hrs for 3 day stay, but with android tablets it's very difficult to find log out page (need to type in http etc address) so had to redo by second night. Had bar snack 2 nights, but order mislaid on first night. Didn't use leisure facilities. Convenient for M25, Brands Hatch etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK

Short stay

Posted May 19, 2013
Pros: Great location, lovely building.
Cons: In places needed a bit of decorating, but did not detract from being a lovely hotel
Location: Just off the M25 and M26, countryside next door, on the North Downs Way. Within short walking distance of Sevenoaks.
Lovely quiet hotel, right on the North Downs Way. Just off the M25 and M26. Within walking distance of Sevenoaks and lovely local village / town. Restaurant and bar food is a bit expensive but lots of local pubs and take aways within walking distance or a few minute drive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A comfortable country hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: The friendly and efficient service
Cons: The dark decoration of the room
A smart and friendly smallish hotel, but the room was dark and featureless.