Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by AK from London

Not recommended

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Has very spacious common areas and lobby. Has free wifi which can again be patchy in rooms.
Cons: Could do a great deal on the customer service front. Good to have a smile on your face at least once a day.
Location: Very much out of town. Not worth putting up with such a poor customer service. No shops/ restaurants at all nearby. NOT FOR FAMILIES. OK for business
Booked it for a family holiday as was keen on a good, five star hotel. Many previous reviewers (thank you) had warned about the hotel being out of town. But took a chance as some had commented on good service. But realised soon after checking in that this is not for you if you are on a holiday. CUSTOMER SERVICE - Worst aspect of this place. Receptionist appeared confused when told we had a room reserved through Expedia. Took ages to allocate a room to us. Phone rang as soon as we checked into our rooms and were advised to move to a different room on another floor. Only a couple can speak English. Not sure how Barcelo can market it as a premium business five star hotel. Do not ask for advice on restaurants/ places to visit. We repented. Consider yourself fortunate if you are ever greeted with a smile. ROOMS - Average size, but clean. BEDS are a nightmare and belong to another generation that you may not be used to. If you have a history of back pain, better forget this place. On the other hand, if you never had back problems before, that comes free with the hotel reservation. FOOD - Overpriced, mediocre food. If you are travelling with children - be clearly warned that there are ABSOLUTELY NO other restaurants/ shops within walking distance. You are forced to eat here and they charge you a premium for it as well. But breakfasts are OK. ADVICE - do not buy breakfast inclusive deals when you book your room. They charge you double compared to what thy charge you otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, helpfulness of staff, great breakfast buffet, luxurious
Location: A bit far from the city center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by March hare from Edgehill UK

First class family comfort

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We upgraded to a suite which was stunning with true quality throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. from Washington, DC

Excellent hotel for the conference I attended..

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Beauty..
Cons: Food offerings were a bit limited
Wonderful location as it sits away from the bustle of downtown but is easily accessible..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bahija from USA

Great Hotel and The best workers

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was great at the Hotel, all the front desk agents were friendly with me and my family , we stayed a week so get to know all of them, when we ask for directions they were so happy to help us, and they do speak English . Also one night I was caring a Heavy bag one of the door men come running and took it from. I was surprised because I didn't see where he come from . After all we had a great week it's close to everything and the rooms were clean and fresh everyday plus they are huge. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was away from the city centre .

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: A clean modern hotel with everything as you would expect.
Cons: The air conditioning was very noisy
Location: Outside the city over a bridge. The walk into town was not attempted in the dark but taxis were available outside the hotel. (not too expensive)
We found the distance from the hotel to the city centre required transport. Taxis were available and we did use the bus once. Other than this the hotel was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Milly from Sydney

Excellent beds and linen, large room, good service

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I appreciated quiet location with a twenty minute walk into bustling and noisy city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet had a fresh and good version of all the usual Spanish offerings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adam from London

Stylish hotel in quiet location

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: It is quiet, comfortable and well-designed, with all the usual 5* facilities. The food is very good and the rooms well-appointed.
Cons: The staff could be more welcoming and it would be a great touch to offer a complimentary cup of coffee to guests as they arrive.
Location: The hotel is in a quiet location on the West Bank of the canal that runs through Seville. There is a large theatre and theme park nearby.
The Barcelo Renacimiento is a large architect designed 5* hotel that is part of a big international group. It is located across the canal from the city centre, so you trade a little convenience for a quiet location. It is very close the the Teatro Central for those who enjoy theatre; and to Isla Majica - a theme park - for those with kids. You can walk over the bridge to the Alameda de Hercules in about 10 minutes and to the old town in about 25-30 minutes, or take a taxi for about €8. Buses are also excellent in Seville. The food at the hotel was consistently very good (including room service) and the breakfast buffet is superb. For €15 you can fill up and skip lunch! There is an outdoor pool (closed in the winter - from October), saunas and a gym, plus free wifi. There is a pleasant bar and lounge area. Staff are helpful and efficient, but it is not a particularly warm and welcoming place - very much a business-oriented hotel, with large convention centre attached. Seville is a great place to visit in Spring or Autumn, when it is still warm but not too hot. The city is vibrant, sophisticated and steeped in history, with great sights and sounds. Don't miss the beautiful bullring, which can be toured out of season with a guide. I can highly recommend the flamenco at La Caja Negra, a tiny basement venue near La Alameda; and the tasting menu at Taberna Poncio just off Calle Fabiola. It is also worth taking day-trips, by train or car, to Cordoba, Jerez and Cadiz.