Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venezuela

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The size of the Villa, so close to the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Hotel staff a big dissapointment

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The staff was extremely unfriendly, the pool bar food was not at standard for 5 star hotel in seychells especially for the money you are paying. The breakfast was a real mockery it made me feel as if I'm staying in 2 star hotel! The only positive experience was the sea villa it's really beautiful and comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but overrated

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
In a premium price group, and considering the level of service that the Banyon Tree group is know for, this was a less than desirable experience. From the moment of arrival, the staff was very uninterested in making you feel welcome. At the beach, an attendant was asked to bring a bottle of water, and the response was "well I'm busy, but you can walk down the beach and get it yourself". And that, quite frankly, was one of the better experiences with the staff. The rooms, by comparison to other premium 5 star properties in the Seychelles (or elsewhere for that matter) were rather small. The amenities were ample and the layout was good, but the room itself was rather small for the price range. Room service was decent, when they actually answered the phone. Trying to find a ride by golf cart to your room, which is a necessity for most rooms, can take you 20 minutes or more to wait. The restaurants were excellent, albeit extremely pricey, which is to be expected in the Seychelles. The beach is long and beautiful, although the area is very prone to undertow and I cannot imagine taking a child to this beach. It is dangerous even for adults. All considered, a very overpriced property with beautiful views and below 3 star service. Would not stay there again. Way way way overpriced for the level of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for having taken the time to review your recent vacation and share your opinion here online. Needless to say how disappointed we were to learn of your less than satisfactory experience you had with us. I would hence like to express my sincere regret and my apologies for not having been able to live up to your expectations. I have duly taken note of the shortfalls you have experienced and was glad you have given me the opportunity to also talk to you on this matter whilst you were here with us. Kindly trust that we are making every effort to provide all of our patrons with a relaxing and comfortable sojourn. Once again my apologies for falling short of achieving this on this occasion and we highly value and appreciate constructive feedback such as the one received from your good self. We would on the other hand certainly be delighted to have the opportunity to welcoming you back so that we may render overall better services and create the pleasant and positive experience we very much strive to deliver. In the meantime, I would like to wish you safe travels and all the very best! Kind regards Serge Ditesheim Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing but not perfect.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Location, facilities, pools, the beach and the views.
Cons: Staff was not good. I had to call over and over again to get anything done.
This place is near perfect. The location, scenery and hotel facilities are a dream. Sadly, the service from the staff and several minor conveniences were lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Hotel, staff, location and service was exceptional in every respect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from California

Banyan Tree Vacation

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and with an amazing beach (albeit choppy water in the summer). Perfect hotel for honeymooners/romance holiday, as it has an extremely secluded romantic atmosphere. Not the best for those who want adventure type travel as it is far from most sights on the island. However, overall I strongly recommend this hotel for a total R&R type holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carla

Perfect Week of Relaxation!

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were extremely impressed with the Banyan Tree during our stay over the Christmas holidays. We had tempered our expectations after reading the varying reviews of the hotel, but I can honestly say that the resort exceeded our expectations! We were in a beach front spa pool villa and the view was amazing. I would recommend splurging for the beach front villas! The resort was completely full but never felt crowded. There were times we were the only ones on the beach. The staff was very attentive to our needs. Room service was always delivered timely, and the special events held at the resort for the holidays were a nice touch! The food at all of the hotel restaurants was delicious, but Chez Lamar is a must!! I would highly recommend this resort and plan on returning there myself in the future. After this stay, we are now looking at other Banyan Tree facilities for upcoming vacations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not upto the mark!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: The beach and the quiet ambience along with the most amazing spa
Cons: Food and Service
Location: too far from the main city.
Pathetically slow service although the staff seemed to be trying hard. They always ran short of towels at the pool; very limited choices on food. Great beach though but way overpriced for just that.
3 out of 5
by REL from Qatar

Not as great as we expected....

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: The ocean view from the main building terrace. Saffron Restaurant.
Cons: It requires extensive maintenance and refurbishment.
Location: The ocean views are great, but the location is quite remote, so we did not feel that we could venture out on our own to explore the surrounding area.
To start with the good things, the hotel's ocean view from the terrace was breathtaking. The beach is nicer to look at than to swim in. It is very rough with high waves that could be dangerous. Dinner at Saffron restaurant was superb. Staff were so pleasant and made excellent meal recommendations. Breakfast was average. Areas that require improvement-I would start with the meet and greet service arranged by the hotel that was charged at 1700 SEY ($123). The person meeting us was carrying a flimsy A4 sheet of paper with our name without any sign representing the hotel. He walked us out of the arrivals area thinking our bags were left in storage for some reason and then when we told him that we had to collect our bags at the arrivals carousel, he tagged along behind us and did not offer any assistance in getting the bags or pushing the trolley, leaving us with a terrible first impression. The negative view of the resort is largely due to the age of the property and lack of general maintenance. The rooms were generally clean, but we did see a large cockroach in the hillside villa bathroom and the small pool was full of dead leaves. The poolside lounger matresses were black with mould. The white walls around the villas were mouldy and landscaping was in need of more attention. The AC in our hillside villa was not cooling, so we were upgraded to a beach villa at 11pm, but again the AC stopped at 4 am. The maintenance promptly attended to our call and turned on another unit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mohamed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2012 on Hotels.com