Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francoise from London uk

Not a five star at all

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the staff and the beach
Cons: Yes in need of some updating
Location: Location not too bad, taxi always awaiting you but cost a lot,best to try the bus which is right outside near the hotel best to hire a car.
The hotel was old and in need of refurbishment, but with the sea nearby that was the best thing. the only problem was the Jacuzzi was out of order all week but otherwise not too bad..the staff was always helpful and pleasant to speak to.Breakfast was great plenty of choices then I've read about before about people complaining not much to eat.would go back maybe in two years time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerry Hionis from New Jersey

Just OK for an overnight stay

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The check-in took much too long. The person who began the check in- walked away on us giving us no explanation, then a separate person checked us in. We had to carry our own luggage to our room. The design of the room is poor in that the bath tub/shower is not enclosed and affords no privacy. The service was too slow. Many things we ordered from the restaurant menu were not available and we were not informed until after placing our food order. The bar tenders were less than friendly, the drinks come without any sort of garnish and almost no ice at all. Thank God we stayed there for only one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best thing in the View from the lobby

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: The View
Cons: Anything, but the view. We traveled to the another side of the island for better hotel service, we just sleep there,not that great! Loud staff at 5am
The current GM was AMAZING, but first impression were not impression, and customer service..SUCKS.PERIOD! Stay somewhere, but this hotel.
3 out of 5
by MamaNurse from WV

Just a hotel...

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms with daily soaps replenished. Pool is nice, but not for children and children's pool is more for toddler age...
Cons: Food is mediocre and costly, especially for a family! Need more options of fresh fruit and snacks for smaller appetites.
Location: Definitely not a location for sight seeing; a bit far from any outside entertainment. Cars can be rented; preferred choice.
For a quick decision without time to have many choices, the Barbaron is a choice; not the greatest and certainly not the worst on the Mahe island. The atmosphere was nice, but not over the top greatness. The food is mediocre for outrageous prices. The beach area wasn't the best, but pretty and most of the time playable. For children, this is probably not the greatest choice as there is nothing to keep them occupied other than the pool and ocean, and neither are necessarily child friendly, but doable. For a couple looking for privacy, then perhaps this is the better choice. It's a bit far for easy access of entertainment outside of the hotel compound.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Kabul, Afghanistan

Great find in Seychelles

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: Great food!
Location: Great location on the beach!
The greeting and check-in at Barbarons was probably the friendliest check-in ever! Very nice. We were able to check-in casually and have a coffee and tea by the water before moving on to our rooms. The atmosphere was very relaxed; nice to move between the pool and the beach. And, considering the usual hotel buffet experience, the food here was great! The Creole buffet on Weds was definitely worth it! Only comments: Gym needs to be airconditioned and the Internet was a bit too expensive for a poor connection. Otherwise, really great experience. And a great deal for this price range. Would definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to Seychelles.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Peet & Barbara from South Africa

Not very romantic

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Atmosphere and not enough sun beds
Location: On the western side, a bit isolated with no local restuarants nearby. Food and drinks are not cheap but that goes for most Hotels in the Seychelles.
Couples looking for a more romantic / intimate setting might be a bit disappointed. Not with the Hotel as such but the atmosphere… Families might enjoy it more. But I will also say that it is comes down to personal taste. We spent 2 week in the Seychelles (last week October and 1st week November 2012). There is nothing wrong with the Hotel and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I enjoyed very much the stay in Seychelles. The hotel, geographically in the center-west is good to go anywhere in this beautiful island. Cleanliness good but could be better. More amenities information is needed. Internet access very limited especially wireless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Egypt Cairo

Moderate to excellent but on condition

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Pros: Guy dilon the sea trip planner
Cons: Beach
The overall of the hotel is good. The rooms are nice clean confortable and organized. The hotel has its beach. However, it's not a place to enjoy swimming because the sea is too rough in this location. Moreover the colour of the pool does not encourage to use as a substitution for the sea. If you choose this hotel you have to plan for a swimming area other then this beach and use the hotel as accommodation only. The staff working there are too helpful but it will cost a lot of money for car rental and sea exertion to enjoy your time.