Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mac from Bangkok

Perfect location but hotel condition is 2 stars

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The location is on the famous location. Walk able from People's square station to hotel, close to Nanjing pedestrian rd. and not far from The Bund. Hotel staffs are able but not so good to communicate in english but not for everyone. Room condition i got it a bit worn out. I can see a long crack in toilet wall, peeled paint, laminated floor are bad condition. But it seem they been renovate the room before coz the decoration are ok. If you just need a place to sleep, cheap and good location. This hotel might be ok. But if you can pay a bit more you can get a better one near by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David Tan from Malaysia

A bit old but ok

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is very good. 3-5 minutes walk to People Square metro station. Room is a bit old and very basic. Noisy in the evening but back to quiet at night. If you stay just for a day because of the location and price, that's ok. Not recommended for longer stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ms Tra from Chicago, IL

Do Not Expect Anything but Location Fantastic!

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wasn't expecting a 4-5 start hotel when I arrived but wow! I should have lowered my expectations even more... First off...not only does the staff not speak English, they are just out right rude! But I found that through out my stay in various places. As far as the room, I was suppose to be placed in a non smoking room but smelled like smoke and was told no more rooms available. I had to ask them to change my sheets after a few days and the only way they understood what I was saying is because I pulled them all off the bed. The paint was falling off the ceiling in the room onto my things and again they didn't understand at the front desk until I actually showed the cleaning/maintenance person when they showed up....their solution - wipe it away for the moment but no explanation as to fixing the issue. Luckily it wasn't falling in the bed area or the bathroom. Even the doorman was rude...I sat in the lobby area one day awaiting a ride and I saw that he opened the door for everyone that approached but when ever I came or went, he never did that for me...totally rude! I can say that I had one good experience at the hotel when the business office located inside did whatever they could to understand and help me. So a huge Thank You! to the office staff. I can't say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone even though the price and location is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will never visit again

Posted Nov 9, 2013
1 out of 5
by D.Toro from Atlanta, GA

Hotel smell so bad, staff don't speak English...

Posted Nov 6, 2013
When l got to the hotel almost at midnight was hard for the check in because de employee did not speak English... And the worst thing the hotel lobby smell so bad, it wasen't a good experience during the time waiting at the lobby
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maggie from London, UK

Excellent location

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Decoration should be neat.
Location: Lots of bookshops and stationary shops nearby; many restaurants (local noodle shops, big restaurants) and starbucks cafe are within walking distance.
The hotel is located in an excellent location in downtown Shanghai. There are many restaurants around it and the biggest bookshop in Shanghai is nearby. Living in this hotel saves me lots of travelling time. The hotel staff are nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jackie from Canada

Great for the money!

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was just fair. No fridge, no safe, no laundry facility. We found the staff nice, and they tried to communicate with us even though their English was very limited. The location was beyond great, so it was just what we wanted. What can you expect for the price?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joy from Mt Kisco NY

A budget hotel with excellent location

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Its excellent location
Cons: There are a lot of things with room for improvement, but with this price, don't be too demanding. Or pay a double price to a more upscale hotel.
Location: The Bund and Pu Dong new district , the Yu Garden and temple, and a lot of historian figure's old houses have transformed into fancy restaurants.
I only stayed in Shanghai for three days, so the location of the hotel is my top priority. This hotel can be connected to the 2 major airports by metro system directly. Besides the hotel is within walking to all attractions like the Bund, Yu garden, Nanjing Rd...etc, and there are numerous inexpensive restaurants and shops around it. The staff are friendly, but with limited english ability. The room is clean, but if you are picky, you had better bring your own towel, soap and shampoo. After all, it's a budget hotel. I have no complaint considering its price and great location..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from London, UK

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2013
The hotel really has a great location. It is close to the giant Shanghai Bookstore and Raffles City. There are many restaurants around the hotel including KFC which sells Chinese breakfast!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by clark from usa

absolute great location

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
the place is in a great location. china mobile and china unicom across the street. kfc across the street and macdonalds next door. so many local eating places around. close to peoples square and east nanjing road. i will stay there again.