Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Best Hotel Ever

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Rooms
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Location: Fantastic location
I have been staying here for some years. I've written reviews before and now I'm doing it again because this hotel just keeps delivering the best hotel experience I have had anywhere in the world and I do travel extensively. In some respects it is quirky, but in a very nice way that makes it more endearing and my home away from home. I take this opportunity to also thank the hotel manager Serge van Vegten. You are in a class of your own. Well done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by S

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Located in the heart of Xintiandi. Quite far from Pudong. Great Manager at the hotel! The room is not huge but very well appointed. If you want an intimate setting to stay, this is it. Very small lobby and no room service for food or bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lara from New York City

Very good sevice

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The manager was very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast served was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Historic District

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Tired of cookie cutter corporate hotels? This is a great alternative. Warm Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeffrey from Singapore

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent stay @88, perhaps breakfast could be better to include some typical local dim sum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary H from New York

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want to be in the Xintiandi area, this is a great alternative to the larger hotels in the area. Service excellent, rooms nicely appointed, moderate costs. I enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love the hotel for it's atmosphere and design. The location is great. You will find little surprise at every corner. Overall speaking I enjoyed the stay very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location..

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent, food is great, room is clean and comfortable
Cons: Laundry slip can be improved to avoid any confusion
Location: Xintiandi.. says it all!
Overall it was good stay, but their complimentary ironing offer was a bit tricky. Their laundry service paper is somehow misleading, and I got very much confused. The front desk was helpful and did not charge me for that issue, but it almost ruined my good experience there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elizabeth

One of the best

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Location: The location with easy access to parks etc was great. Being only 15mins walk from the Peoples Square and other attractions.
We found the whole experience of staying at 88 was enjoyable. The manager, Steve, went out of his way to ensure all guests were comfortable and having the best experience possible in Shanghai with suggestions of places to visit and how to access them. It was such a pleasure to return to our room each day and be greeted by smiles from the staff, fresh fruit in our rooms and comfortable chairs to relax in. Also the adequate desk gave opportunity to plan activities and spread maps etc. The breakfast was delicious and catered for all tastes, setting us up for a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Krista from New York

Great boutique hotel for an authentic city stay

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Love it here. My best kept secret in Shanghai. Service is normally great. Double check airport info on your own. Rooms need some updating. Furniture is getting shabby. I had to move my room this week due to stained furniture. Room size is great. Bed and pillows are ver comfortable. Great breakfast and lounge amenities included. Nice private gym. Manager is great and accommodating.