Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrzejfrom New York

Nice hotel in French Concession

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location and atmosphere.
Cons: Language proficiency of the junior staff. The concierge and reception are all multilingual with a good command of English and occasionally French.
Location: Located on a Paris-like short street ends on one side with a terrific Mediterranean restaurant (Garlic), and on the other with the night-club hub.
Beautifully park-like situated and conveniently located European style hotel on a quaint and quiet street. Short walking distance to the subway and all main attractions of the district. Apparently a popular sight for weddings as we have witnessed three in one week. Helpful staff. Affordable rates. Will stay there again next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great location in teh French Concession

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Some staff are English challenged although the hotel caters to an international clientele.
The Anting Villa is perfectly located in the leafy green, boutique filled French Concession neighborhood. There's easy access to dozens of restaurants and the metro system. The hotel offers Shanghai on a human scale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Donnafrom Canada

Great hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at Anting Villa. This is the third time I have stayed here and we were not disappointed. The only reason I didn't not give it a 5 rating overall is because of the cigarette smell in the lobby and hallways. I realize this is not entirely the hotels fault....mostly the inconsiderate that insist on smoking whenever.... wherever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jorgefrom uruguay

well located

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: must be improve service to customers , at lobby there is a place that no open till 10 am so I cant talk with suppliers
Location: a lot of good restaurants around near by
is well located 2 blocks from metro line 1 , the restaurant is not much our style of food and opens late , 7 am . at night tried to have dinner 2 times of 5 days and service was bad , went with supplier , requested several diferent options and where not available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice Hotel but.....

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very impressive looking upon arrival. the location is great....close to the Metro, good restaurants and a Starbucks. The room was very nice...clean.... except for the carpet which was covered in stains. Breakfast was okay by western standards...omelette and waffle station. Each room has a balcony but the door to the balcony is locked making it inaccessible .....a huge problem since the a/c was turned off making the room stifling hot at night. The was a tiny window but so small didnt help with ventilation. Also, a smile from the front desk staff would have been a nice welcoming touch
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jean-Pierre Gueguenfrom USA

Great location in the former French Concession

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a great stay in this clean and comfortable hotel in the former French Concession area of Shanghai. Perfect location for sight seeing, Hengshan Road station on metro line 2 is within walking distance and most convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Pyefrom China

Good Location

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable stay, the Hotel is in a great location for seeing the City at night and shopping during the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MKWfrom Ningbo, China

Good quality hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is in the old style but unlike many in Shanghai has not been allowed to waste away. All public areas are clean and presentable, the rooms are clean and well cared for and everything works quite well.The staff speak very little English so I would not recommend this place to anyone who is new to China, it's probably not a good holiday stopover but for experienced China travellers it offers a better than usual experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel in the 'old French Concession'

Posted Jul 17, 2013
The Anting Villa Hotel is in a really nice part of Shanghai - lots of great eating and shopping, quiet tree-lined streets, and very close to the Metro (Line 1 especially). Helpful staff. Very nice breakfasts! I love Chinese breakfasts, but even if you don't love them you have a buffet style choice of dishes. The garden-view room is quite comfortable except for two drawbacks in my case: I really struggled with the dim reading light at night; and the musical fountain outside - four hours of Johann Strauss on a 10-minute loop, up loud, every night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MCfrom Australia

Exciting city

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very happy with my room and the beautiful surroundings at the Hotel. Large breakfast was great for a traveller. Nearby streets and park were very pleasant for local walking. Close to subway and easy taxi access to get into the city. Most staff were friendly and helpful.