Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: On top of the bund!!!
Cons: Hallway(s) smelled of cigarettes.
Had to wait for 10 minutes at 2:15 in order to check in. Then had to wait 15 minutes more outside in the hall when I got up to the room for maid-service to finish preparing the room. The first credit card (Mastercard) I tried they were not able to take. Despite these things, a pretty good place to stay, if you don't mind the smell of stale cigar/cigarette smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allison L from Washington DC

Amazing view of the Bund

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great price, great location and great service. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, much better than expected. I have no complaints. The only advice I would give the management is to tone down the cologne scent in the lobby. It's too strong and deters the purpose of a good scent. Try a different scent that is softer
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Phil from Toronto

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had lots of variety (western and eastern styles).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Cleveland, Ohio

Classic Shanghai

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location; British Bar (great service); Room, bed and bathroom are outstanding.
Cons: Not sure I would pay the extra $$ to stay in an executive room.
Location: For some great food and drink nearby, go left out of the entrance and then a left on Daming Rd. where you'll find Bund 30 Bar and many other places.
Just got back from China and this place is great. My second time staying there. It is not a modern, western hotel and that's part of its charm. The rooms are wonderful. Very clean, large, with modern amenities. Breakfast is excellent with great views. And the "British Bar" is a great place for a drink - outstanding service and friendly servers. Location is outstanding. Great value - this place is priced wonderfully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nonnasan from Melbourne

Good price good location good hotel

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Served a good purpose and the English bar was a great late night snack place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MIGUEL from mexico

Best location. Close to the bund

Posted May 16, 2014
The hotel very good, but the staff need to speak English!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from U.K.

Art Deco monster -

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: reception was slow
Location: excellent central location
I first stayed in thjis hotel forty years ago at the end of the Cultural Revolution. This was before it was 'modernised' - a pity all the old furniture and panelling was ripped out as it would have been a stunning attraction if this had remained in place. The hotel is very convenient and in an exciting position. For this reason would recommend it still.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Broadway Mansions Hotel Shanghai.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Excellent hotel overlooking the Bund. Recommend a high up river view room to obtain the best view of the area. Staff were efficient and very helpful. Coffee expensive at $13 a cup in the lounge area but coffee expensive anywhere in China. Well located and easy to obtain taxis to get around. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by L.Dan from CA,USA

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice Hotel