Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: On top of the bund!!!
Cons: Hallway(s) smelled of cigarettes.
Had to wait for 10 minutes at 2:15 in order to check in. Then had to wait 15 minutes more outside in the hall when I got up to the room for maid-service to finish preparing the room. The first credit card (Mastercard) I tried they were not able to take. Despite these things, a pretty good place to stay, if you don't mind the smell of stale cigar/cigarette smoke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Cleveland, Ohio

Classic Shanghai

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location; British Bar (great service); Room, bed and bathroom are outstanding.
Cons: Not sure I would pay the extra $$ to stay in an executive room.
Location: For some great food and drink nearby, go left out of the entrance and then a left on Daming Rd. where you'll find Bund 30 Bar and many other places.
Just got back from China and this place is great. My second time staying there. It is not a modern, western hotel and that's part of its charm. The rooms are wonderful. Very clean, large, with modern amenities. Breakfast is excellent with great views. And the "British Bar" is a great place for a drink - outstanding service and friendly servers. Location is outstanding. Great value - this place is priced wonderfully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MIGUEL from mexico

Best location. Close to the bund

Posted May 16, 2014
The hotel very good, but the staff need to speak English!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from U.K.

Art Deco monster -

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: reception was slow
Location: excellent central location
I first stayed in thjis hotel forty years ago at the end of the Cultural Revolution. This was before it was 'modernised' - a pity all the old furniture and panelling was ripped out as it would have been a stunning attraction if this had remained in place. The hotel is very convenient and in an exciting position. For this reason would recommend it still.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Broadway Mansions Hotel Shanghai.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Excellent hotel overlooking the Bund. Recommend a high up river view room to obtain the best view of the area. Staff were efficient and very helpful. Coffee expensive at $13 a cup in the lounge area but coffee expensive anywhere in China. Well located and easy to obtain taxis to get around. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by L.Dan from CA,USA

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and staff

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Hotel is a little bit old and not close to subway station. The others cannot be complaint.
3 out of 5
by Ryan from Saskatoon,sk

Bund, Bund, Bund.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Bell boys were friendly, location
Cons: Smell was very bad The price is a bit high for what you get.
Location: Location is good
Stayed there 5 nights location is pretty good can walk and see a lot of things. Would not recommend this hotel to close friends, but would be ok if need place to stay if in a bind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bruce from Sydney

Very Nice But...

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was very good except that when we arrived we were initially given a double bed instead of the king (preference) or twin beds that we had paid for. Initially we spend time arguing the point with the manager until we received what we paid for. Also, whilst the location is very good, there are either good expensive restaurants or low quality poor quality restaurants in the area. Apart from this, our experience here was very good.