Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Rotterdam

Small, central and comfortable with good vibe

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: Great for newcomers. Maybe too central for people with preference for specific SH area.
Have stayed in many hotels in Shanghai. If you prefer small and personal over large and anonymous an excellent choice. This is one of best values I have seen. New management is doing great job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice but small

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were small but location was good yet seemed very quite. Housekeeping is sub par with little attention to details. Just an ok hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AMA from Sweden

Transit thru Shanghai

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is good. A little hard to find but once there I have no complaints. Comfortable bed, nice design. The gym is a little too hot and the breakfast had a little funny taste but overall I had a very pleasant stay. One word of advice: the taxi trip fr the Maglev station to this hotel is around 50 Chinese money. The driver that took me there wanted 400...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nice boutique hotel in Jing'An District

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at the Jia Hotel in Shanghai many times but this is the first time I have written a review. It is a nice boutique hotel in the Jing'An district and is in a convenient location near the metro. The breakfast is not as good as I remember it when I stayed 1 year ago and the gym does not open until 7am which I find strange because all they have to do is turn on the lights. However, it is still a very nice boutique hotel with comfortable rooms and in great condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Tigard, OR

Jia Boutique on West Nanjing Road

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Jia is a great place to stay in Shanghai if you like high end shopping and the convienience of being near the Metro Green Line Subway. From either airport Hongqiao or Pudong, you can take the Metro Green Line. Just get off at West Nanjing Road Station and go out exit #4 and you walk across the street right into the Jia. Easy and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Media, PA

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Terrific hotel and great location. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by m from shanghai

JIA's not really 'home'

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
"Jia" 1 in chinese translates into home. This place isn't like home. It's a boutique hotel concept that I really liked when I stayed at their HK location-their first property I believe. When I came here I was expecting something close to what I had experienced there-yea no. The rooms themselves were actually pretty nice. I liked them. The location is perfect for tourists (I'm not but it's a very convenient area). The noise problems (solvable or not?) and staff problems really damages this brand's image. Maybe JIA should invest more in training their ENTIRE staff from the front desk lady who kept referring to their 'Sales Manager' to the staff at Issimo and finding a way to keep them motivated and grounded-hey you guys work in the service industry. At least put on a smile when you greet guests who have problems they need resolved. Don't put off their issues to deal with easier guests who are checking out. All in all though I might find myself here again. For the price, location, and rooms? But to all incoming guests-just be a little wary ... >_>
5 out of 5
Recommended
by China Traveler

A Gem in a Fabulous Location

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
JIA Shanghai is the perfect retreat from the busy streets of Shanghai. The room as well as we the entire hotel is quiet. The lobby has 24/7 free beverages and cold bottled water plus snacks. Choose a suite and not a regular room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Harley

Shanghai Home

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the JIA Shanghai. Lobby was a warm quaint area for my family to gather for conversation and relaxation. Cold bottled waters and sodas awaited us. Staff was helpful and respectful at all times. I will definitely stay there again on the next trip to China..