Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Kansas, USA

Resturant

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel has very good food selection / resturants. They have a great Japenese and Western resturant.
I have been staying at this hotel for the past 3 years and stay 4 times a year. It in downtown, very close to Bund and Train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from San Francisco

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne from Newcastle, Australia

Enjoyable stay

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Shower was excellent. Room felt rather luxurious.
Cons: We really enjoyed staying here, so nothing to improve on
Location: 10 minutes walk to the train station.
Hotel felt rather luxurious from the entry foyer to the room. The bathroom was well appointed with a fantastic shower that actually had decent water pressure. Our room overlooked the houses and some low rise buildings. The room was very quiet with a firm mattress, but not too firm compared to most Chinese standard of beds. Train a 10 minute walk away. It costs about $40AUD from the airport in a taxi doing 140km/h. Should have learnt to say slow down in Chinese.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by frances from london

Great location

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Conveniently located.
Cons: I selected the most basic package. I was looking forward to use the gym/pool facilities however I had to coffer up another 100 yuan for access.
Location: Loads of boutique shops dotted around the hotel...
Overall very pleasant; helpful staff, good cleanliness. Great value
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Joey from US

Front desk made me feel sick

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was the second time I chose to live here, but the attitude of front desk made me very sick! Very bad attitude when I want them to help me checking my itinerary (my cell phone is verizon and cannot login), they refused and said it will be 10 bucks extra charge if they use their computer to help me. I booked a room with free wifi, but they told me "it is impossible", so I said could you please print out my itinerary to check? They said "no", I said it is your job as a front desk, they even replied me with "we don't care." Oh MY!! Very bad experience and will never choose this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by re

Good hotel in an excellent location

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Great location and gym and pool
Cons: Better information about the hotel from the staff
Location: 10 minute walk from South shaanxi station, and 2 stops from Peoples Square. The beautiful Moller House is just across the road. Quiet and leafy.
Really nice hotel in am excellent location 10 mins walk from the metro. The staff are just o.k though, the highlight for me was the gym and pool area. Modern, clean gym with excellent equipment, but no rowing machine. Bring a swimming cap if you want to use the pool, you cant swim without one. Also check if the gym is included in your stay, I thought it was and then got charged quite alot for it at the end of my stay. Across the road is a small 7/11 type store, where you can buy hot food for a cheap meal if needed. Overall I liked this hotel and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Top notch Service

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Left my passport in the room and was at the airport. Hotel managed to send someone to deliver it all the way to Pudong airport within a short span of 45 mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tiia from Finland

Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
we stayed there one night after a long flight before getting to our final destination. Our room was really calm, quiet and comfortable - just what we needed to get some rest. Great location near the shopping streets and restaurants of the former French concession. We would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from California

City Hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: not charging for things that should be free (internet, swimming pool, etc.)
Location: There is a tremendous amount of shopping and dining choices within short walking distance. Subway is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away.
The hotel is in a great location, though about a 15 minute walk to the nearest subway stop. At the price we paid, it was quite reasonable. There is a great South American restaurant attached to it. My only issue is charging for everything outside of the room itself: breakfast, internet (free in the restaurant), the swimming pool, exercise room, etc. The room was fine.