Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Snowdonia from UK

Snowdonia

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent room and service, good location, and good value of money. This hotel consists of two wings - Wing A and Wing B - and it is slightly inconvenient if you live in Wing A (the newly refurbished extension) as you have to walk to the Wing B to get to the main reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis

Recent Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Very nice and convenient hotel located in pudong area. the staff were great very friendly at all time. we enoy our stay there, specially if you are on the east wing tower, where they have your breakfast included as well you enable a plug and play wireless on your room, and during the evenings they offer you the happy hour at the lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aussie traveller from Australia

Very overpriced for what we got!

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service wasn't particularly good or helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the review. Please accept my apology for not meeting your expectations. Any and all comments are greatly appreciated, they will assist us in improving our service delivery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jay from NYC

Better than when it was a Sofitel

Posted Jun 29, 2013
There is a lot more light in the rooms, and the a/c seemed to work better. The front and bell staff were definitely friendlier. Paying USD $20/day for wired internet in the room is nasty given the room price is not a bargain. Having a shop to sell amenities and snacks seems a basic requirement for any big-city hotel. Decent gym. The location is excellent for my work so I'm happy they've improved somewhat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Jay, Many thanks for the 4 stars and review. It was good hearing that you were a repeat guest and continue to use us as your hotel of choice in Shanghai. As a temporary fix to the lack of wireless in the guestrooms, I have made available TPLink units which will give our guests wireless service in the guestrooms. You can get these from the front desk. Also, for free internet access we have wireless service available in all public areas and restaurants. Come Back Soon! David Givens - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This place is top notch

Posted May 19, 2013
Pros: Overall facility and cleanliness (there were people everywhere cleaning stuff) Top notch service
Cons: Easier access to wireless internet.
I chose this location out of loyalty to Hilton Honors. I'm usually not impressed with DoubleTree facilities but this one was absolutely beautiful and the staff was superb in all respects. The hotel has 2 wings. I was in the East wing which I was told was the "new one" but the West wing seemed pretty nice also. I also had the advantage of having been upgraded to a very nice 2-room suite with access to the quiet executive lounge where they served breakfast and an evening snack. This made everything that much better. The hotel is a little out of the way for my purposes as it was about a 15 minute cab ride to the financial district, but well worth that inconvenience if you don't want to go out and walk to nearby attractions. I needed a lot of hotel time so it was great for me. My only complaint was the wireless internet access requires and individual router in your room. They didn't have one available when I checked in so I was tied to the cable. They actually remembered to bring me a router the next day but I was never able to get it to work so I was unable to sit in my very nice living room to work. I will likely return here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
Many thanks for the review and five stars. Also thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. I was happy to read the staff and property exceeded many of your expectations. As to the wireless opportunity in the guestrooms, I have made this my top priority and hope to have a solution in the near future. Wireless is very important. Come back soom! David Givens - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from NJ

good for business stay

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
everything is good except a few things, no wireless internet in the room, no cellphone signal in the elevator. Restaurants are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Kevin, Many thanks for the review and 4 stars. I was happy to read that you found the everything was good. I am working hard on the lack of wireless in the guestrooms. However, as a temporary fix I have TPLink units available that are easy to use and provides a wireless service in the guestrooms. These are available at the front desk. Also available is free wireless service in all the public areas and restaurants. Come Back Soon! David Givens - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 stars, we hope to see you back in the near future. David Givens - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike from Portland, OR

Great hotel, but needs a coffee shop

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here many times, but they lack a casual dining facility. Since there are no restaurants within walking distance it is problematic. Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Doubletree Pudong, and this is my only quibble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2013 by David, Hotel Management
Mike, Thank you for the review and 5 stars. Also thank you for being a loyal customer. Our Grand Cafe restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch, we have also made the A La Carte menu available in the lobby lounge at all times. Hopefully this will afford you more dining choices during your future visits. Come back soon! David Givens - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great stay with soft beds

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: the bed is so soft
Location: location is a bit out of town, but its not that much for a taxi
I have stayed here several times, the beds are soooo comfortable and the towels are so soft. the rooms are large and very clean. the staff are very pleasant are always helpful. a metro line is less than 5 minutes walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review and 5 stars. I was happy to read you enjoyed our large guestrooms and found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. Come back soon! Warm Shanghai Regards, David Givens - General Manager