Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Singapore

Great location

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
So close to the Bund, between the Waldorf and the Westin. The corridors looked newly renovated; gave an overall cheery feeling. My wife thought the carpet in the room smelt a little musty, in need of a good steam cleaning, but overall great value for the location for the short stay
3 out of 5
by Dave from Brisbane

Tired Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Hotel Staff
Cons: Complete makeover
Location: Great location to The Bund. Local restaurants and shops make it handy for late night snacks/food/drinks.
Hotel was ok if you are a travelling alone and are not to fused about the where you stay as far as Hotel rooms go. Room and hallways were very tired and are in desperate need of a makeover. Bed was like sleeping on concrete. Shower didn't drain properly so it filled up fairly quickly. Carpet in the hallways was dirty and ripped and the walls could do with some new paint. I asked for a non smoking room but suspect it had been a smoking room. I really didn't spend much time in the room so I didn't get overly concerned about it but if you like to spend a bit of time relaxing in your room it would not be for you. Hotel staff were great and the location is fantastic. Area feels very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very conveniently situated, close to the Bund and handy to the metro and Nanjing Rd. The room was basic but well cleaned and all we needed. Staff were very helpful. We would happily stay here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sam from California

Don't go

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon check in, we were told there was a restaurant on the 6th floor...go there...it's under construction and closed so I am not sure why she sent us there. The room was so dirty. Mold in the bathroom on the floor shower and sink. The sink did not drain...at all. We had to use a cup to take the water out and throw it in the shower, the bed was so hard, I looked and it was not even a real mattress....just something thin on a piece of wood. It's so noisy. You can hear people outside all night as well as neighboring rooms. I am not picky about hotel rooms at all....this was horrible. Ohhhhhh and the front desk was so rude. Don't stay here...in my opinion hotel.com should remove this from their site. Location was the only good thing,
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Los Angeles, CA

Great for the price/location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Minutes walk from the bund. Cannot beat the location for the price, especially for crowded events (NYE). We have taken FOREVER to get home if we stayed anywhere else. Bathroom smelled like mildew and leaked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by guillaume from sydney

Nice hotel very well located

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Great value for location which is very close to shanghai main attractions
Cons: Air con was not working.
Location: 5mn to the bund, 10-15 mn to east nanjing road. Sightseeing,shopping or restaurants:this hotel is perfectly located
3 nights there. Verynconvenient as walking distance to the bund or east nanjing road. Room was good size, with nice bathroom. Pretty clean and good condition. Perfect value for location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by R.Bharat from Chennai

Great Location, Comfortable beds, friendly staff

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is great and staff is good. The carpet and rooms are a little worn out, but it is worth the money you spend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by max from nz

Brilliant location , 200m from the Bund.

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Location of hotel on Expedia's map.
Location: The Bund, Old Town, People's square, grandmother restaurant, Yuyuan Garden. Plus lots more.
Hotel staff have been brilliant, room was great, king size bed, Wifi Internet in room. It's walking location to places is excellent, the Bund 200m away, Grandmothers restaurant close by. Old town is a easy 10 min walk, 10 min walk to East Nanjing metro. Biggest disappointment was Expedia's map show hotel at west end rather than eastern end of Guangdong rd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Diane V from Anaheim, CA

Great value for the money

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I spent one night in Shanghai and really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was a lot nicer than expected. The lobby was fancy-like, but the lobby bathroom was the complete opposite. It was a bit run-down. The room itself was a very good size and the bathroom as well. The shower was clean, though the drain didn't drain very quickly. I enjoyed the complimentary water, tea, and room slippers were a nice touch. The view from the room was horrible, but the room was clean. The beds were hard, but that was to be expected of Chinese beds. The hotel staff was pleasant, and I would recommend this hotel to guests, especially since it's only a 10 minute walk to the East Nanjing Rd subway stop and very easy to find.