Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Iconic Hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The location, the rooms, the bed, clean, and iconic.
Cons: Some of the staff were unfriendly. Heating was turned up could not lower the temp in our room No relaxed bar or relaxed space to meet
Location: The bund - Wow
Iconic hotel with fabulous rooms but let down by unfriendly staff and attention to detail. It is clean and in a great location but the staff were not helpful and the prices in the cafes etc even higher than the Peninsula. This with hotel heating which was not controllable and far too hot which ultimately ruined what should have been a special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drednickfrom Melbourne, Australia

One of my top 10 hotels

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The Peace Hotel easily rates on my top 10 hotels in the world. I have stayed here a number of times and never been disappointed. The recent renovations are in keeping with the style of the hotel, and the quality of the fittings used first rate. having breakfast in the beautiful Art Deco restaurant on the 8th floor, overlooking the Bund is one of the many highlights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern CA

Beautiful Historic hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful room and architecturally interesting.
Cons: restaurant food including breakfast.
Location: Great views of the Bund and the space age Pudong skyline across the River.
Hotel was very lovely and historically fascinating. The food at the restaurants was barely fair and very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronniefrom Vancouver, Canada

A tastefully renovated historic hotel of Shanghai

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: - tasteful decor - size of the guest rooms - quality of the furniture and supplies
Cons: A more reasonable rate?
Location: Well, the Bund is the one. Too many to list...
Everything was excellen. My children and I really enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Danielsfrom Jacksonville, Fl

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Proximity to the Bund allowed us to enjoy early morning interactions with very friendly folks from Shanghai. Staff went out of way to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AEfrom Aberdeen UK

Great Location and experience

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fairmont Peace Hotel is an Icon, the building itself, the public areas and restaurants, are retro 1920s, it is a British Colonial, classic. The internal d├ęcor is really impressive. Because of this, the hotel is on the official tour lists and coach loads of tourists stop outside, many come into the main reception and public areas, to take photos. This can be a bit of an intrusion to guests. There are wonderful views of the Bund and over the Huangpu River, to Pudong from the hotel restaurants. Location is superb and gives easy walking access to the shopping areas and the Bund. Other main tourist areas are easily visited by Taxi, which are plentiful and very cheap (metered). The concierge will provide a card, with the hotel name and address, and other destination addresses, written in Chinese to hand to the driver. We never had a problem getting to and from locations. As is the case for all such hotels of this rating, the price for accommodation and for food or beverage is high. But this is worth it, as a special treat and for the memories. Our bedroom was plush, comfortable and enormous and the bathroom superb. One annoying let-down, for a hotel of this rating, was that the maid wanted to service our room at about 8am of a morning. We would find a card saying that she had been unable to service the room and that if we wanted the room serviced, we needed to call reception. This happened every day of our 5 day stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimfrom Minneapolis, MN, USA

Nice hotel very near the Bund

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, beautiful facility.
Location: I didn't appreciate being solicited every 15 feet while walking Nanjing Road East. If you walk one block either side of that street no one bothers
It is a perfectly fine hotel in a great location. I am glad I bought the club level upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shanghai (US expat)

historical property across from the Shanghai bund

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: 5 star staff/rooms/amenities; beautiful building - complimentary tour of historic site. Cross street to the Bund; located on interesting Nanjing Road
Cons: Went during Chinese New Year; hotel management will strive next year to keep up with demand and vary the menu for Western taste at breakfast buffet.
Location: Pudong skyline, walk on the Bund, walk on Nanjing Road. Easy taxi ride to French Concession, Taikanglu - or many other sites in Shanghai
Service, rooms cleanliness, beds and sheets were all top rate. I would go again - however, look forward to dining experience improving.Dining room staff were very attentive, but hotel was not prepared for volume of guests who arrived for Chinese New Year, nor was the fare geared to Western guests; that being said, at this holiday, the guests were primarily Chinese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the Bund

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Beautiful elegant hotel on the Bund. Large room with fabulous bathroom separate shower and claw foot tub. Hotel staff is very attentive