Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen

Comfortable and pleasant accommodations

Posted May 18, 2013
My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a full week in Spring 2013. We had one of the large rooms on the upper floors, which met all the normal standard for most hotels anywhere -- Clean, with adequate room, normal range of chairs, desk, etc. The hotel is not close to downtown, but taxis are easy to find at the nearby corner and are cheap. The area around the hotel is safe and interesting for seeing somewhat normal life in the city, as well as the botanical gardens. The beds are firm, but that seems to be the preferred standard in much of Asia, and we had no trouble sleeping. The breakfast buffet is clearly oriented toward Chinese food, but it included fried eggs, rolls, fruit and other items that could make up a breakfast suitable to Western appetites.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Vancouver Canada

Shanghai

Posted Mar 21, 2012
Older hotel. about a 15 min walk to subway, yes the beds are like a marble slab. but we got an extra comforter which helped. Outside noise is quite high but overall for price it wasnt all bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester

You get what you pay for

Posted Dec 4, 2011
Location: The Bund, People Square Lujiazai
The cost for the room was very cheap but I believe this was because there was a speaial offer at the time. The room was cleaned each day and the staff were nice ot deal with however most didn't speak English that well. The nearest Metro station was South Shanghai Railway Station which is about 15 minutes walk. I found using the Metro was the cheapest way to travel around the city. The bad points were that the carpet had stains on it. The bed was hard to sleep on and my room was facing the main road so you could hear the traiff noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bryn Mawr, PA

Be absolutely sure about location

Posted Jul 24, 2011
Location: Stick to the tourist areas, at least you get understood more easily and taxis are easier to come by.
Just needed a night in Shanghai before our family flight back to USA. Chose this because it was so cheap. Each twin bed was big enough to take an adult and a small child. Rooms were clean. This was the only building in the area that had anything in English anywhere. Biggest problem was that Expedia gave us the wrong address and we had to wander around until we found the right one - costing us extra taxi money. A few staff spoke enough English - but asking them to provide a taxi to take us to the airport at 6.00 am was a challenge. Hotel is in a local neighborhood not near the tourists so if that's what you want that should be OK. Learn a few key Mandarin phrases before you go. Hotel takes a deposit at check in and room has a lot of condoms for purchase (yes go figure). Restaurant staff did not know English and trying to explain the need for a vegetarian dish was extremely difficult. The restaurant served Chinese food only - OK for the convenience but we weren't in the mood to try any of the few local restaurants nearby. Unlikely to use again but it served its purpose as a place to park ourselves for 8 hours
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Excellent choice for EXPO _ English speaking staff

Posted May 30, 2010 on Hotels.com
This hotel is not a 4* hotel but if you are looking for a clean hotel, with the possibility of non-smoking rooms (wow!!!) and a terrific location to use public transportation to Expo, this may just be the hotel for you! You should note that the internet is included (not the case for all Shanghai hotels) and access is simple (no need for front desk intervention for it to eventually work - password is pre-programmed). The breakfast is the weakest point of this hotel - it caters well to Chinese people with many choices for them, but Westerners will only be familiar with the fried eggs, white bread (no toaster), bacon and fruit. This was fine for me - I just wanted to get something in me and get going for the day. The hotel is about a 10-15 min walk for a large bus/subway terminal station. From there, there are 2 special Expo buses (no. 2 an no. 3) that take you directly to Site C in 15 minutes or less (even in rush hour!). Cost: 2 RMB!!! Cab fare between hotel and station: 12 RMB ( $1.50). This hotel is not centrally located - not close to the Bund, Nanjin Road or the Yuyuan Garden but taxis are cheap. The room was smallish - I always had to wait for elevators (only 3 elevators and there are 19 floors), the bed was very hard (typical of all Chinese beds) but the fact that the staff spoke English, were courteous, hailed the cabs and gave the directions to the cab drivers for me - all this more than makes up for any inconvenience. I would recommend this hotel, especially to those who are first time travellers to China.