Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice hotel but bad service.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Service.
I forgot mu charger at the room so I called and said I would pick it up two days later. A guy at the front desk was very rude. I called twice before I came in, and they still didn't have idea about what I was coming for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JW from Guangzhou

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpfulo stafff. Excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Need free wi Fi

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michel Lentz from Atlanta, Georgia

Great for a business hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only complaint was that the room temperature was too hot and I could not get the room to cool down any which made sleeping uncomfortable. Other than that, a great hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel bad location

Posted Dec 15, 2013
A poor hotel, I have stayed here before but the staff and service deteriorated considerably. The staff had little knowledge and unserstanding of English . Not able to cater for someone staying on business... No adaptor for a foreign plug... No hotel car service to the airport before 8am. Long wait for taxis Poor restaurant service No wifi access in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Spencer Lee from USA

Hotel is good. Service is so so

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service is not very attentive. When your taxi arrived, no one comes out to help you with your bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel

very nice hotel - but no wifi in the room!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Cons: In any hotel of this type - you must have wifi in the room!
2 out of 5
by Jeff from Perth

AVOID THIS HOTEL. BAD LOCATION WITH BAD STAFF

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Checking-out and leaving
Cons: Train the staff to provide a level of service that is expected when you got to a Nikko or a 5 star hotel
Location: There is nothing near by, it is in the middle of a residential suburb. Had to catch a taxi everywhere.
We stayed at many Nikko hotels in Vietnam and Japan in the past, so when we saw a Nikko in Shang Hai it was the obvious choice. We got to the hotel and the lobby was very nice, as we would expect from a Nikko and that was the last time our expectations from Nikko were met. Our room was extremely hot (29 degrees) and the aircondiion did not work. We called for maintenance who came up to our room and did nothing except took his gauge out to tell me the room was hot. The concierge came up to tell us we are going to change rooms, so he gives me a key to another room across the hall. When i go down to reception to hand in the old room keys I am told that i need to pay the difference as the room is bigger and there was no same room of that type available. I asked to speak to the manager and he came out and said it was fine for tonight but needed to move tomorrow to another room. I bluntly refused and after 30 minutes of discussions he decided to leave it. The new room wasn't great either, the bathroom door handle was loose and came off. The window blinds were broken so we couldn't have a shower with the lights on at night time as the adjacent building would see straight in. We didn't call maintenance as it was too much hassle and put up with it until we left. Overall, the hotel staff do not understand service and expectations of a guest staying at the Nikko or a 5 star hotel. The location was in a residential suburb so you can't walk anywhere. Avoid it and go elsewhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abraham from Colombia

Good Hotel, a little old, good ubication

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Ubication
Cons: Renovation
Good Breakfast, not so clean the halls. the room was a little old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great business hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Nikko Shanghai is a great business hotel. The rooms are modern and clean. Overall service is adequate and acceptable. Location is okay and within 15-20 minutes walk to main Nanjing Road (Portman/Hang Lung66) area. Great location for going to Hongqiao airport. The negative is lack of taxi especially during rush hour, this is an overall Shanghai issue. The final negative is weak F&B. The Japanese restaurant is fine, other venue is weak especially the main floor coffee shop, but with great restaurants in Shanghai, one will only eat at hotel for business matters.