Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Sydney

Spacious cost effective hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Spacious room for a cost effective price.
Stayed for 2 nights. Room was spacious with own kitchen and lounge area. Metro whilst brilliant and cheap is a 15 minute walk away to the nearest station. Taxis are available although we found it easier to walk out to the street and get one. Breakfast buffet is ok but only had boiled eggs and the bacon was not the best. Nice little garden to look at though. Free wifi is ok but can only get in the foyer. There is a little lounge area opposite reception that seems a popular free place to check emails etc.
3 out of 5
by Jon from Taipei, Taiwan

Decent Hotel for the Price

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: The price was right for a quick overnight stay. Location close to Jing'An Temple and Hongqiao airport. Reasonable size room + kitchenette.
Cons: The room was pretty loud. I was on a high floor, which should have been decently quite, but the windows were not sealed well.
Location: Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Walking distance or short cab ride to Jing'An Temple and shopping district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel, near restaurants, helpful concierge

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, spacious, excellent staff, good restaurants and convenience stores nearby, reasonable price for Shanghai
Cons: Breakfast buffet is very expensive internet access is not free and not wi-fi; only 1 cord in the suite
Our family of 4 stayed in Shanghai for a long weekend on a self-arranged tour of China. We felt like we paid a very reasonable price through Expedia for a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, nice kitchen, eating area, etc. in Shanghai.The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful and professional. The concierge, porters, and desk staff all spoke proficient English. Although it's not near the Bund or other famous Shanghai sites, it was easy to get a taxi wherever we needed to go. If you turn right walking out of the hotel, you quickly come to many excellent restaurants, including at a busy shopping area at the next main intersection. We ate breakfasts in our room because the hotel breakfasts are expensive and there are many convenience stores and a couple of bakeries within walking distance. The only drawbacks were that it is not very near a subway station (about a 20 minute walk); and internet access is not free and not wi-fi: there is only 1 cord in the suite in one of the bedrooms.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erez from Suzhou

Not the best

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not really nice, interior design can be better. reception took HOURS to check me in. a bit disappointing and I would not come there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ken from Queensland Australia

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Cons: More inclusions, like breakfast offered with non smoking rooms, all rooms should include wi fi but you got to pay for that extra.
Location: Only local restaurants close by walking distance, had to get a taxi for tourist things or to train station.
It was a bit out of our way, but suited our reasons for being there on a business trip only for 4 nights. Food was a bit ordinary, but Chinese food is certainly different to Australian food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by FRANCIS CHAN from SINGAPORE

Convenient Location

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jean Dorval from Canada

My worst hotel out of 50 in China

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Being from Canada I thought that the Howard Johnson Shanghai would provide American standard. This hotel is dirty, the carpet are filthy and there was moisture in the bathroom. They have no Wi-Fi service they have to bring a router to the room and I never been able to connect on Internet. The IT manager could not fix my lap top and told me that there was a problem with it and send me to a shop to get it fixed. My computer was fine it is their system that is antiquated. Very bad Hotel make yourself a favor stay away there are many other hotels in Shanghai that are much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by elochoop from US/China

Continues to Surprise

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This all suites hotel is one of the best values in Shanghai. Even though the Howard Johnson brand in my mind is synonymous with economy, it seems--like Holiday Inn-- to enjoy a higher level in Asia. The hotel is starting to age a bit but the rooms are big, bed is firm but not intolerable, a small kitchen is convenient (but would be nicer with some pots/silverware to use to cook with). The location is good--in what is the best district to be in (Jing An)--although right around the hotel there's not much. Hong Qiao airport is very convenient. Subway is a 12 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anon from Canada

Bit rough around the edges

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
CONS: Room was not as clean as it should have been - e.g. there was a THICK layer of dust along ledges that housekeeping probably assumed no one would look at; there was a thick, long, black hair on the frame of the washroom mirror; the kitchen counters were not clean and had coffee/tea stains. Front desk also could have been more helpful - a friend stopped by during my stay and inquired what suite I was staying in. Front desk told him there was no such person at the hotel, without even checking their systems! PROS: The location was convenient for my purposes (near the highway) and near a Line 2 subway stop. There are also a number of other hotels nearby and a 7/11 and a very nice massage place directly across the street. The suite was fairly large and admittedly much nicer than other Howard Johnson locations I have stayed at (in the US). OVERALL: fair value for the price I paid.