Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Jiangsu

Stayed here for the LSAT

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location was great for me, and the interior was really luxurious for the price.
Cons: The staff were courteous enough but I don't think I can say they were nice. Also, look into the air temperature control for room 1618!
Location: The location is a 10/15 minute walk from the metro station; plenty of cheap food options nearby but not much else.
I stayed here because I was taking the LSAT at the Shanghai Univ. of Finance and Economics and I picked this hotel for the convenient location. Glad I did, the LSAT test center was a <15 minute walk straight down Wudong Road. The hotel is really nice for the price. The only problem was that my room's temperature control system didn't work and it was waaaay too hot—it was about 0*C outside but inside my room it was seriously like 30*C/87*F. In fairness though I never told them about it/asked them to fix it so it wouldn't be fair to hold it against them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brittany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

First time staying Howard Johnson

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Aircond off day time & it was hot in room. A staff smoking in lobby when no smoking allowed! Couldn't find a single restaurant staff during meal time, had to go hunting for one! Ordered spaghetti carbonara and was served with boiled plain spaghetti which we wondered and the next thing we saw was chef running out to say it's not done! What comedy!! And we were hungry. However, the chambermaid was exceptionally attentive - that's the only positive we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chch, NZ

Incompetent Service

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Service is utterly poor.
Was a comfortable stay BAR the service. I needed to physically go to the hotel TWICE and call FIVE times and wait ONE month to get my deposit back. It was only upon using profanity and losing my patience were the people working there realising my frustration at the lack of information as to why my deposit was still not returned. While the stay was comfortable I would advise against staying here due to the service or lack of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, Fl

Shanghai University School of Finance in a walking

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Good experience Stayed in an Executive Suite Club Level. Lounge offers coffee, tea, and soft drinks only. Breakfast is served at the restaurant. Staff have very limited or no comprehension of English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rickfrom Manila, Philippines

Close to Fu Dan University

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, because it's near to FUDAN university
Cons: The wifi facility in the lobby and the rooms as well.
Location: None so far
The hotel is conveniently located to the school where my children study, in FUDAN University. The lobby, and the room where me & my son stayed are clean and organized. Though the inconvenient the hotel does not free wifi in the room nor in the lobby. I talked to the reception and they told me that they have free wifi in the lobby, however, upon checking there was none. I even tried logging in several nights or morning, there was really none. In other hotels where I stayed, some provide free wifi in the room. But ALL hotels in China definitely provide free wifi in the lobby, to the point, the signal are even strong and fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yfrom USA

Convenient location, nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Luxury decoration every room
Cons: housekeep, clean service need to be improved.
Location: subway station in walking distance, bus station in front of hotel and supermarket are very close. Many eating places
The hotel is the close to where I want to visit in Shanghai. It locates conveniently, with substation nearby, bus station in front the hotel. There are many supermarket, restaurant nearby. The facility is new. The room is comfortable and luxury decorated. However, the housekeeping is not great. Someday, they forget vacuuming the floor, someday, they forgot replacing the empty tissue box... The front desk and staff are overall friendly and helpful. The room service menu/food is good, and are priced reasonably using USA standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by malinfrom Stockholm

Prisvärt

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Prisvärt hotell med helt ok service. Det enda negativa var att den utlovade internetuppkopplingen i rummen inte alls fungerade. Det fanns dock gratis wi-fi i receptionen. Ok frukost, både kinesisk och lite annat. Ligger lite off men om man vill bo nära Fudan University är det utmärkt och allt man behöver finna inom gångavstånd.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom 서울

복단대학 관련 숙박은 OK

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
복단대학 외국인 기숙사와는 약 300m 떨어져 있어 기숙사방문이나 대학관련 행사 참석자에게는 괜찮은 위치이지만 관광이나 기타의 이유로는 묶기에 불편한 위치와 주변환경 임. 호텔수준은 3.5 Star 급