Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jordan from singapore

Close to station

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Wifi is weak in most ibis hotel I must said
Location: Very bear station & can be walk to city
Location are good which near station with surroundings a lot of caf├ęs & convenient store. Staff is friendly.... Room is oki except no window that is a pity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kushal from india

great value for money

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location of the hotel, very near to yuyuan garden/central shopping area.. MCD/KFC/Starbucks/Costa coffee/pizza hut inside 5 min walk.. Nearest metro yu garden about 800m..1.5km walk to the bund waterfront..
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Richmond Hill

Good location and cleanliness is poor

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: It is the location.
Cons: Cleanliness. Provide spoon and better cups for beverage.
Location: Shop at small stores nearby and the streets near Renaissance Hotel. Eat Peking duck at 1 Henan Road - Old Beijing (Lau Bei Jing)
This is my 3rd stay this year ...I stay here because of the location for shopping. I just love to explore the small shops around the area ...not those in Yunnan Garden. You get pretty good buys. For example, the mini remote control cars can be had for 100 yuan for 3 with a little bargaining. In AP Plaza, after aggressive haggling, I was able to buy at 40 yuan each. Scarf sells for 10 yuan each while at AP Plaza I had to pay 20 yuan after much bargaining. It is really a budget hotel. The paper cups they provide leaks. You find insects in the room and shower. It is just a reflection of the general cleanliness of the room. I don't use the shower gel provided because the bottle is dirty, which is a put off. If you can lower your expectation, then this hotel is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ricardo from mia

Nice close to yu yuan gardner

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Very nice
3 out of 5
by Desmond from Singapore

Good location for shopping

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Just the location
Cons: The shower area is great improvement in cleaning. Also, please provide small bottles of shampoo and lotion.
Location: It is a shopping area. Avoid the street foods.
Yu Gardens area is great for shopping, especially Fuzho Road. You get stuff there that is cheaper than the plaza adjacent to the Science and Technology Museum. I had to bargain hard to get decent prices at the latter but got it lower at Fuzhou Road. Bring your own shampoo, lotion and soap. The dispenser of shampoo/liquid soap is disgusting dirty that I won't use it.
2 out of 5
by Desmond from Toronto

Good location but cleanliness is lacking

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: The location. On Sunday, there is an open market on the streets surrounding the hotel. Lots to see, eat and buy.
Cons: Clean up the bathroom. Discard dirty bath mats. Provide small bottles of shampoo, lotion and shower gel instead. Have a lockbolt added to the door.
Location: Yunnan Gardens is on the next street. There is an open market on Sunday on the streets around the hotel. Xintiandi is just a metro stop away.
Easy access - it is about 10-min walk from Yunnan Gardens metro and on the opposite side. The street is off Henan Lu. Look for the shopping complex with Tesco and that is the street where the hotel is located. RMB7 metro fare to get there from the airport. Room - it is clean except that it is basic. No instant coffee. No spoon. Only paper cups provided. No tissues. Bathroom - dirty. The sink bottom was exposed. The shower gel/shampoo dispenser was dirty; they don't provide small bottles of shampoo, body lotion or shower gel. Fortunately, I always have a set of these with me on my travel. I was grossed out by the dirty dispenser. The bath mat was filthy. I didn't bother using it either. Check-in was relatively slow even though it was late at night when I got there and there were 3 check-in staff and one other guest checking in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from USA

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
WiFi was poor, it can not be received on 5th fooor. I had to go downstars to use my ipad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MT, Denmark

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel if you want to stay in the middle of everything. Higly recommendable for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Yuyuan Gardens. Far from metro.

Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel has a terrace balcony on the 5th floor with good views of Yuyuan Gardens & the Pudong skyline. Unfortunately, the same floor was having renovations (row of rooms converting to a bar) and construction was really noisy and annoying. Particular girl at registration counter was really pushy in guests to take up the hotel's transfer service to Pudong Airport. As an ibis Hotel, expect no frills, basic and minimalist rooms. Rooms came with all China channels - including 2 English ones (CCTV News & ICS Shanghai). Location of the hotel is directly next to Yu Fashion Garden mall & the Yu Gardens Bazaar, however the Yuyuan metro station is a sold 10-15 minutes walk away. Possible to walk to the bund or East Nanjing Road if your feet do not tires easily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Right in the middle of a huge temple and a new mall. Lovely location, great for shoppers, extremely convenient. Rooms are basic. Beds are basic. Toilets are basic. Expect basic. But at least there's free wifi. PS: Watch when you cross the roads because no one, drivers and pedestrians alike, obey traffic lights. Good to stay alive so you can spend more time in your basic room eating your 5th take-way pack of pork dumplings.