Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Tom from Vietnam

Nice hotel.

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Good range of shopping nearby, but if you are in Shanghai, there are much better locations. Good for business travelers but not for tourists.
OK stay, but not what I was expecting of a 5 stars Intercontinental hotel. Everything was just average or below average if you compare to other 5 stars. The pool was indoor and just a big larger than a jacuzzi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from Houston,Texas

Nice place to stay

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Room and staff were great
Cons: Lobby bar
Location: Pudong, Shanghai, China
My only complaint would be the hotel bar...and this isn't really a "complaint" but it seemed lacking compared to the hotel. Quite surprising really, as it is such a nice hotel with a great staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Mishandled internet fee conflict...Expect much better service from an Intercontinental

Posted Oct 17, 2011
Expedia specifically listed the inclusion of free internet access for our room and all other rooms. First night, the internet logon page presented a pay wall. At approximately 0630 the next morning, I visited the front desk to resolve the situation. They checked the reservation, and said internet access was not included. Since I neglected to bring a complete printed copy of my reservation, they generously offered me access to their club room on the 24th floor to print my receipt. Club room printer was out of toner, so it took a while to print a receipt. Returned to the front desk, the young lady accepted my receipt and said internet access would be free. Returned to my room just before 0700, and the phone rang waking my wife. The young lady who just assisted me, said there was confusion and there would be a charge for internet access. OK. I was not happy (yes, I did raise my voice). I return to the front desk, and the assistant manager is already there checking out the Expedia website. He apologized and said there will be no charge. When I checked out, they already charged my credit card for using the internet. Of course, I objected. Then, they looked more carefully at their computer screen and saw that I was not to be charged. Being told “no” over the phone minutes after being told “yes” in person is poor customer service. What upset me was the phone call to the room that woke up my wife. Food and drink prices are extremely high even by US standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Great except 1 thing

Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was in Shanghai in August. It's HOT and HUMID. I'd expect the Hotel to keep the air up. Maybe I'm spoiled but as an example.... My room was on at 22 floor. The day I checked out I left my air conditioned room and stepped into what felt like an un-airconditioned central area. Within the 30-60 seconds it took to get to the first floor there was sweat dripping down my face, back and chest. It's one thing to put the air conditioning low to save energy but being covered in sweat just from going from the 22nd to the 1st floor seems kind of near unacceptable. Otherwise, everything else was great. So maybe the true recommendation is this hotel is great except maybe not in the summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Very good overall, but still room to improve

Posted Mar 4, 2009
The hotel is very good in general. Well located, new rooms, excellent service. The lunch and dinner buffets are very good, with many different choices and good quality food. We did have some trouble with the A/C that never really got away, even with frequent visits from maintenance. Also, there is a big construction site nearby that is noisy. I think this is a good choice if the location suits your needs.