Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadephia, PA

Nice hotel with convenient location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: convenience
Cons: long line at check-in
Location: breakfast at Jiang Zhen Xing (5 minutes walk) was perfect. Dinner at IKEA was convenient and pleasant. Metro station outside lobby.
This is my 2nd time staying with Hua Ting. A family of four with two young boys, we need flexibility, convenience, cleanness and space. Hua Ting provides all those conditions, with its perfect location (walking distance to a number of favored restaurants and transportation stations), flexible hours and revamped interior decor. We loved it. The boys were amazed at the night view of the landscape and went for the "see through" elevator every time day and night. Staff was friendly and professional. The only thing to complain was the check-in process. I had to wait for 15 minutes before being attended. There could be more staff on duty for evening check-in hour (it was a working day around 19:00). There was a line of guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ming from Markham, ON

Nice Hotel

Posted May 13, 2014
Nice, clean, convenient place to stay. But no free Internet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Roger from USA

Still good

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have been staying at this hotel for for years on my regular visits to Shanghai and while I know that there are more up to date places to stay I like the location (you can always find the Shanghai Indoor Stadium stop on the subway) as well as the neighborhood. Great breakfast, lobby coffee shop and evening lounge with entertainment. Also a spacious, rather well equipped (by hotel standards) gym/swimming area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

business hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Moderately priced business hotel. Comfortable for the western traveler. Good location, easy access to the metro.
3 out of 5
by Dong from Boston, MA

Not pleasant unless you are a smoker

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The location. The subway station is right there.
Cons: This hotel needs major renovation. It supposes to be a 5-star hotel in Shanghai.
The hotel room is very smelly even with the non-smoking room. Also the room is so hot during the day because the air conditioning is not functioning during this time of the year.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Harold from New York City

Hotel has gone down hill

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was in 1022. The safe did not work, had to have security unlock. The mini bar did not work and there was no soda or food. The TV did not work. The room temperature did not work. The drain for the bathroom tub and sink were very slow. Had to turn off water to prevent overflow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JJ from Canada

Good location, but the rooms can be cleaner

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was good. Food was good. But the rooms were dusty and dirty. I understand the rooms are outdated, but at least they can keep the rooms clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Angela, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Hotel.com. We regret to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will address the shortcomings you brought to our attention and actions necessary to rectify the problem will be taken. Your comments are much appreciated for feedback likes yours enables us to identify opportunities to improve our standards of service. We sincerely hope that you will treat your most recent experience as an exception and allows us another opportunity to be of your service to you. We wish to see you in your next coming to Shanghai!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the only thing to complain about my stay is that the non-smoking rooms smells like smoke. Not ideal, but if you can bare it. Not a big issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim from Wexford, Ireland

Ideal location for our personal needs

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is modern and clean and staff are Friendly and helpfull and always someone speaking English. Food is excellent but pricy and drinks are also expensive. We really enjoyed our stay and if we visit Shanghai again it will be the hotel of our choice, really enjoyed it.