Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Too remote and little or no English speaking staff

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Great price. Quite neighborhood.
Cons: Hire at least 1 person that speaks English available either at the hotel or by phone. It would also help to have a menu in English.
Location: As far as we could tell, there was NOTHING nearby. We were very happy that we had pre-arrange an English speaking guide to tour the next day.
Our problems began at the airport trying to find where to locate our complimentary shuttle service to the hotel. We were sent to a place in the airport that wanted to charge us $10 per person and I tried to communicate to 4 different people that we were supposed to have FREE transfers to our hotel. I showed them our confirmation and asked them to call the hotel. After almost an hour, it was finally resolved and we were on our way to the hotel which was about 30 minutes away out in the middle of what seemed to be a residential area. No one at the hotel spoke English and it was a real challenge to order dinner and breakfast. If it was not for another guest at the hotel that spoke both Chinese AND English that noticed our difficulty trying to get anyone to understand us, I am not sure we could have made it. The rooms were clean, the beds were very hard, and the staff were courtesy, but we were all frustrated that we could not communicate with each other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Room was clean. Food was good and not expensive. Free breakfast was very good. Have free shuttle to Pudon airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but far from airport

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Free airport ride service
Cons: Smell of cigarettes
Location: None
I needed to stay a night at a hotel near Pudong airport for an early morning flight. The hotel is a chain that has other locations nearby, this hotel was the furthest one-- the airport shuttle service dropped us off last. Free breakfast starts at 6 or 7AM. Airport shuttle service is free. There is no wifi in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cyndie from Boston

The hotel is good for the price charged

Posted Jun 14, 2014
The lobby is nice clean and the room is big. Also the hotel provides free shuttle bus. However, the carpet is quite dirty and there is some kind of odor (perhaps smoke odor) inside of room. However, for the price they charged, it is a good hotel to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebk from Nagaoka, Japan

Good for short stay

Posted Apr 3, 2014
I had stayed only one night because I was a transit traveller and I think this hotel is good only for short stay. Comparing the other prices, It was really good. Room is nice and wide, Comfort bath and shower. Staff can not communicate. The bothering point is the location. You feel you are in a remote area of Shanghai. The facilities, specially shuttle bus is convenient. As I recommand it is good for short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel near to the airport

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Value for money, transport to Airport
Cons: Support for English speakers. Some room maintenance is required.
Location: This hotel is in a great location for the airport. Although by Taxi it can be a little tricky to find.
I booked this Hotel to be near to the airport. They provide a free shuttle bus to the airport, and a cooked breakfast was also included. They don't have great support for English, for instance the breakfast menu was in Chinese only, with no pictures. But I got by with my limited Chinese. For the price, with breakfast and shuttle included I got a lot better quality than I was expecting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from CA

Good value

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Decent hotel at reasonable price with free breakfast; not located near popular business area but provided free transportation to the PVG airport.
Location: Good for overnight transfer; nothing to do nearby.
Decent hotel at reasonable price with free breakfast; not located near popular business area but provided free transportation to the PVG airport (wait for awhile at their counter desk at the arrival floor). Nice staff is you can speak Chinese. Free Wifi only available at the front lobby, not in each room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Hong Kong

Not nearly as bad as other reviewers say; I return

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: The rooms are really nice and the price is great ($24 incl tax) for a 3.5* hotel (OK China standard=2.5-3* Western). Hourly free shuttle
Cons: They could post Chinese route instructions so Western guests can print them
It's a fact that taxi drivers have trouble finding this hotel but -being a frequent China traveler- this is almost the norm unless you book famous $$$ hotels (although it also happened to me that a taxi needed 3 phone calls before getting to the Regal Oriental in Shanghai... Once you bring the phone number of the hotel just let the driver speak to them. There is a restaurant but I did not use as I arrived late. In 2 weeks I return to Shanghai and for my morning flight I booked them again.
1 out of 5
by roby from shanghai

not worth the deal

Posted Sep 20, 2012
There is no English speaking staff at all. The hotel advertises that it is close to the airport, but my cab driver had to make several calls to find it, and it turned out to be way out in the middle of a very drab and rundown area. The hotel room and such was fine, but the lack of helpfulness, and the difficulty in finding it made it entirely un-worth the savings on the actual room. When we arrived we asked for a taxi to be called for a certain time and they told us this was not possible. They have a shuttle service that runs at uncertain times, and the only way out is to hire a private car. Luckily this turned out to be rather inexpensive, however the stress was not worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed!!!!

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Location: Location is not for the tourist
Staff couldn't communicate with us because the lack of the language I was expecting to come to a hotel and at least communicate with them to get information also the area where the hotel was located is so far away from the tourism is also the bathroom looked dirty and the towels smelled horrible I was so disappointed that I left the hotel the next day and went to Hotel Equatorial very friendly and most of the staff speak English.