Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dan from brisbane

large rooms, helpful staff, great price

Posted Mar 16, 2014
real value for money, line 4 and 7 subway right next door. The bed was comfortable, nice big bath all amenities supplied, free wifi in room, and very helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend and stay anytime I am in Shanghai. Just down the road from the french concession and not too far from the Bund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B&Z from Vancouver, Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from Bethesda, MD

Steps from the subway station

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Location
Location: Besides being so close to the subway station, there are a few small restaurants and a 24-hour convenience store also nearby.
This hotel is steps from the Dongan Road metro stop (Exit 3, I think.. it's marked in the metro station), and at the intersection of 2 major lines. This makes it easy to get to/from both airports, as well as other sights. Internet worked well, room was of a high standard, and breakfast was sumptuous. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marianne from New Zealand

Absolutely excellent!

Posted Sep 24, 2013
I have never had a happier stay in a hotel before. Xuhui is a fantastic hotel with the best room and staff I have ever encountered in my travels. The hotel is a little out from the hustle and bustle of the city however it is within meters of a subway station (the subway being much preferable to use as taxis are in hot demand and hard to flag down). I can really recommend the hotel breakfast as this was simply superb (we had our breakfast included, but I would still pay the ordinary price for breakfast as it was just that good!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Jul 26, 2013
For the price; it is excellent value. For westerners going into Shanghai the English spoken by hotel staff is of a good level, and for Chinese, mandarin is obviously standard. Conveniently close to the metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel; solid bargain.

Posted May 29, 2013
I stayed at the JW marriot before this place; I wished I had no wasted the money on the Marriot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staff

Posted May 27, 2013
My major problem with the hotel is that the staff of hotel restaurant is unfriendly and the service is not up to the standard. We tried to find decent restaurant around the hotel, but there was none. In general, hotel staff is not helpful. When we asked an attendant to get us a taxi, he told us to go to street in front of the hotel and get a taxi for ourselves. This hotel Is far from almost everything except for subway station. Subway station is only a few steps from the hotel. I recommend subway for travelers, as it is cheap, clean, and faster than taxi in most cases.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott

Great hotel

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: Loved the location next to the metro lines 4 and 7. Literally a metro exit 50 meters from the entry of the hotel (exit 4 if I remember).
Cons: I didn't like the pillows as they were nice, but would go flat and I would wake turn them over and sleep until they went flat again.
The room was very nice and very comfortable. The great thing is that is was located very very near a subway station which made getting around very easy. The breakfast was good with a large selection of options, though more attention was given to a traditional Chinese breakfast that "western," but that is understandable and we had more than enough good options for us. The only thing that was lacking was wireless internet in the rooms. It was the only hotel of the 4 I stayed in around China that didn't have wireless internet access in the room. I would stay there again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey USA

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel located at in Shanghai. The breakfast buffet is excellent. I will definately stay again for my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Milko from Bulgaria

will come back there again

Posted Apr 4, 2013
nice hotel, great location to public transport. Location vs. Money = Great Deal