Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
by A from Northampton
Potential not metPosted May 20, 2014
Pros: Nice room good decoration lovely bathroom
My partner and myself chose this hotel due to previous recommendations and its lovely photographs. The hotel itself is in a reasonable location and the room we had was very nice. Unfortunately a few things let this trip down. 1) balcony. I paid extra for a balcony room thinking it would be lovely to sit and look at the scenery however we were unable to access it as the door was locked at a four inch gap. I understand safety is paramount but why advertise a balcony if we can't have one?! 2) peacocks. The hotel advertised wandering peacocks but we never saw them - we looked specifically several times. 3) being fined for a nosebleed. I had a nosebleed while sat on the bed one evening and got some (a drop) of blood on the sheet. We were charged 330RMB (£33)for the privilege. 4) location. There are construction works going on, on one side of the hotel. Its not too noisy but it does disturb that sense of this place being a "retreat" , and views from the room overlook this lovely construction site. Taxi drivers can find this place really difficult to find and the subway is a 15-20 minute walk away.
Some what out of the wayPosted Sep 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Although a 10 minute walk from the Shanghai south rail/metro station the location had little else going for it. There were very few restaurants close by. To get to the Bund etc it took some time on the metro. Room was clean and had everything we needed and was good for the price, however when you get a balcony room you expect to be able to use it. The door only opened 6 inches. Service from reception staff varied. One was very good and spoke reasonable English, the other was not interested at all to help. They don't mention it but there is a laundry that you can use at no cost. Didn't eat at the restaurant and it appeared very few people did. Be prepared to hand over 500RMB on arrival as a deposit even though the room had been fully paid for prior. Make sure you keep your receipt as we read others had trouble getting it back without it. Best thing would be its a non smoking hotel.
for Personal Eventby A verified traveler
Relaxing retreat in the middle of ShanghaiPosted May 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent property. Inner spring beds and very comfortable pillows. Very fresh linens. Excellent TV coverage. Handicap ramps. Easy accessibility. Friendly multilingual staff. Wired computer access in room. Complementary computers near lobby.Excellent breakfasts both American options and Chinese with fresh eggs and vegetables. Somewhat away from city center but reasonable rates gives you taxi money. Very green in approach and reality. Plants inside and out. Very peaceful. No noise.Would definitely stay again!
for Business Travelersby A verified traveler
overall clean and newPosted May 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
this hotel location is hard to find for the taxi driver. but overall the hotel is clean and green....very new...however, i accidentally break the glass cup while brushing my teeth and i was charged for it.....the hotel is petty and it charge for spoon, fork, etc. i bought dinner soup from the cafe and they did not allow me to borrow a spoon to eat it in my room......terrible service.
by A verified traveler
Shower =>Temperature not hot enoughPosted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
The temperature while using the shower should be set to 45 degree celsius & above, it feels like having a cold shower. In addition, the security guard is not paying attention to guests leaving & returning to the hotel, he "actually" thought I was a delivery service person, who is totall unacceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2013 by Kenneth, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Ma'am, We're so sorry about the water temperature. We've done major work to ensure everyone now gets a hot shower. We're very sorry for our security guard's mistake as well. Many guests come and go and our security guards have different shifts as well. We're sorry you were mistaken for someone else. We will do our best next time to ensure you have a nice stay.
by A verified traveler
L'otelPosted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel tries hard, however, my entire stay has been soured by the fact that their staff missed out replacing a hand towel in my room the day before I checked out for which I had to pay for a replacement, an email complaint to the hotel has gone unanswered.
Recommendedby A verified traveler from Singapore
An impressive green hotel !Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very satisfied with the hotel! love the clean,modern and comfortable room!Especially love the non-smoking policy in the hotel!The hotel even has a complimentary guest laundry room with washing machine,dryer and iron.Service is also fantastic!Looks like a good 4 star hotel.I stayed here for 8 nights and will return if visit Shanghai again.It's a 15mins walk to the nearest train station.Easy to get taxis from the hotel.
Recommendedby A verified traveler from sydney
Posted Feb 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
It's been a wonderful staying in the hotel. It's quiet, clean with near new facilities, highly recomended to everyone.
Recommendedby A verified traveler
Air-conditioning not warm in winterPosted Jan 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
The air-conditioner is not warm enough in the room, so it can get quite cold, be prepared to wear more clothes, even at night. The hotel should include WiFi services, espescially when the cable they supply in each room is very short, as compared with other hotels in Shanghai. Actually the hotel should consider giving more quality slippers, so that a change is not required so frequently. Since there is a lot of moisture after taking a hot shower, the hair-dryer should be placed in the room itself. Breakfast is very limited, which is quite expensive for RMB48 for each person. Trying to get a taxi at night, can be quite difficult too
Recommendedby A verified traveler from melbourne
quality hotel at a very reasonable pricePosted Jan 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
convenient to the south railway station, room is small but well maintained, buffet breakfast is so so , but good in term of the price, recommended