Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by John from Vancouver Island

Only stay if no other choice.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: I was allowed a late checkout at 2:00 pm with no charge.
Cons: This hotel needs a complete revamp.
Location: Good proximity to Old Town.
There are lots of formula hotels like Home Inn nearby which are much better. Upkeep is vey minimal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Newportmuscles

A very good hotel, recommended.

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Location is superb, 2 metro stations covering 3 lines either end of the block.
Cons: Air con in the breakfast room, was a bit chilly some days.
Clean large room. Mattress was a bit firmer than normal but I slept well. Half the rooms face a busy road, you want xx01 to xx08 for peace from the cars. On check in you need to pay a 300 RMB deposit, no problems on getting back on check out. Wi fi only works in reception and breakfast room. Breakfast is help yourself but some items run out quickly and are slowly replaced, including coffee cups and juice glasses. Hot food is a mixture of UK and Chinese, most days had sausages, dumplings and spaghetti!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maya from Edmonton, AB

Close to sights, but don't expect much more...

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is well located, but the service is less than great at this property. Staff were not friendly or helpful, the buffet breakfast had no fruit at all, and the bathroom in my room was moldy and leaky. The hotel served it's purpose, but I will not return.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SSD from Mumbai

Not fo Foreign Travellers

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
They do not accept your booking terms. Reception staff not cooperative.
1 out of 5
by theo from canada

Run down over the last 5 years

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Stayed here 5 years ago. Now you get torn plaster and wallpaper, no bathtub, dark scratched paneling, outdated televisions, one English Channel. It is no longer 'Magnificent' by any stretch. Don't go here. For a couple of dollars more much better choices
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LL from Las Vegas

Good location

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is very good. Price is right.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Greg from Panyu, Guangzhou

Set Low Expectations

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you just need a place to sleep, it is fine. Go out for breakfast. I never got my internet to work, and the lobby hung up and never called back when I called for the 6th time asking for help connecting. Other reviews are correct, this is a cheap hotel, don't expect the employees service to be good, as they probably don't pay then much.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Job from Sh

a bed fit for a dog

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very uncomfortable bed. House keepers didn't take all the rubbish out. Staff seemed pretty disgruntled when I had to wake them at the front desk to check out! And your hotels.com map is WRONG. Would not return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty but good location

Posted Oct 8, 2012
The hotel was dirty and old looking. It definitely needs some work done to it and some serious cleaning. The only upside was the location. I would not stay there again.