Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut, USA

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The location is great and the style of the 1920s French Club lobby building gives a feel of old Shanghai
Location: Good location off of Huaihai Road shopping area and Shanxi South Road subway station
Excellent location near Huaihai Road and Number 1 subway line. Compared with more recently built hotels in Shanghai, the Garden Hotel lacks glitz and the room furnishings appear old. It is, however, a very well-run hotel and the location in the old French Concession is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Clean and convenient

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location and wonderful staff.
Cons: New carpet, but I think the newness of the rooms is reflected in the price.
Location: Great for wandering around the French Concession area, browsing small boutique shops and restaurants.
This hotel is in an excellent position, right in the heart of the French Concession area and only a short walk from the Shanghai metro line. While the hotel is a little on the daggy side (could do with new carpet and a general refresh), it was spotlessly clean and the hotel staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Gorgeous gardens

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Loved the Japanese breakfast. Chandeliers. View from the room. Location. Friendly staff. Will stay again.
Cons: Give the snacks a miss in the bar. Overpriced for what they are.
Location: Ice walk to the French concession.
First night in shanghai and in china and this hotel was fantastic. Rooms are good and we had one on the 14th floor facing the gardens, which was lovely. Great location, near a metro. Probably a bit more expensive than we would normally pay, but worth it for the nice experience straight from 15 hours of travel. I'd recommend the Japanese style breakfast. Yum!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Nice hotel in downtown of Shanghai.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
It's a famous hotel in Shanghai, The price is cost-effective.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danfrom Tokyo, Japan

Clean, excellent service but could use updating

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, the hotel was very nice and service was excellent. The property itself though could use a bit of updating as furniture seems to be getting a bit dated but overall still very comfortable and the location is great. It's walking distance to malls and they have taxis waiting in the mornings, unlike many other hotels in Shanghai where it can be extremely difficult to get a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by giacomo

Beautiful hotel in great location

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Gardens, old world ambience, attentive staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Shopping and easy access to the rest of the cty
Styish hotel right in the centre of the French Concession. area. Very helpful staff. I would recommend a stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Flofrom Hong Kong

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service, great location, very clean. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bobfrom Portland, Maine

Good value for the money

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This stay started out a bit strange, because the front desk gave me a key to a room with guests already in it. They quickly fixed that, but it made me question whether they have their act together. The room turned out to be fine, and the location is great. I was also told when I checked in that the breakfast buffet was not included (which was my understanding when I booked the room) but then I was not charged by the buffet staff -- which was a nice bonus. Overall, I would definitely go back in spite of what appeared to be a bit of management / control issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John Gruetznerfrom Ontario

Modern Old World Elegance

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Garden Hotel is a classic way to enjoy business travel.