Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
very very very bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
by yue

close to the bund, but not metro station

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
overall clean except the old carpet and shower head.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Cheryl

close to Qi Pu market

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were kind and friendly. English communication was limited. (we wanted to buy tickets to Shanghai Centre ( acrobats) and the hotel got the tickets for us. ( ended up at the Circus instead) Show was terrific but it wasn't the place we thought we had bought tickets.We also went on a 14 hr. tour ( Chinese tour) and spent at least 6-7 hours at factories instead of all of the sights in Suzhou. ( realize now it is better to spend more money and get an English guide)
1 out of 5
by steve

its not what it seems

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Pros: Some of staff were helpful
Cons: Too many to mention!
Location: Good spot for real dodgey shanghai
Don't believe the pictures, they are really misleading. Location was ok but in the dodgey bit of shanghai would not stay there again, pay the extra money like 20 bucks or so more ull get much better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lincoln from Australia

Great for an overnight stay

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Location, price, close proximity to a vegetarian restaurant.
Cons: Level 2, the 'pimps' /salesman in the front of the lobby trying to ask if you would like a 'lady massage' or 'lady sex' (after 8pm).
I have stayed in this hotel twice now. First time in July 2011 for 3 weeks. Second time June 2012 for 1 night. A good cheap hotel to be based from if you are the kind of traveler who spends the whole day out exploring. Also great for an overnight stopover in Shanghai. Surrounding area can be dodgy at times (very safe, just has a lot of 'massage' girls. There is a great vegetarian restaurant 2 min walk up the street - great food, very clean and honest and quite cheap 20-35 RMB per meal. The hotel itself is a little old and rundown. Stay away from level 2 unless you can speak descent Chinese and are into illegal gambling and prostitution. This hotel is great for a young couple looking for a base in Shanghai or a single traveler/local businessman. Nanjing east subway station is about a 10-20 minute walk, depending on your fitness, but a great walk as there is plenty of activity on the street. Only 5-10min walk to the north end of the Bund, with great views of Pudong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

bargain hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2012
The hotel was overall okay for the price we paid. close to the bund but noisy during the night time as we can hear car honking out on the street or music from nearby clubs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by joe from san diego

I NEEDED AC

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Pros: very close to nanjing Rd
Cons: AC
Location: not bad
everthing was ok but no AC and they don't want to trun on the AC becaues they didn't feel is hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The hotel.

Posted May 30, 2012
Cons: Only basic taxi far from East Nangjin.
No free wifi as advertised. They had, "just given out thier last map." Also, I highly recomend asking for a room in the middle of the hotel or the east end, as there is construction going on at least through mid 2013. Jack hammers started at 6:52 am, local time, on a Sunday. With that said, the room itself wasn't bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, but good for the price

Posted May 8, 2012
In general the place looked a little shabby and run-down but it was clean and the air-conditioning and hot water worked. A good cheap hotel if you're not picky. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good.