Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Dubai

Use to be a good boutique hotel!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Room Size & space
Cons: A lot
Location: Good location in the center of the French Concession
Poor maintenance ! such broken slated wooden at window persian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Boston, MA

Large, comfortable rooms, great neighborhood.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Large rooms, soaking tub, location. Walking distance to Xintiandi, plenty of local restaurants, comfortable surroundings.
Cons: The staff was friendly enough but not really up the job in terms of their English skills and knowledge of Shanghai.
Location: Xintiandi is walking distance, centrally located for just about everything else, so short taxi rides to most neighborhoods you may want to visit.
I was back in Shanghai for work and stayed for 7 nights. This hotel fit just about all my criteria for a Shanghai hotel. When I work in China, I enjoy the culture and food, however, at night I like to feel "at home". I want a big suite with a desk and a sitting area, with lots of room, a big bathroom and a soaking tub. I got all of those. Having been to Shanghai many times, I also prefer a "neighborhood" that I can walk and explore rather than the entirely tourist oriented Nanjing Road or Bund area. So, Pudi works for that too. The rooms are a bit run down compared to the bigger Western 5 star chains but they're still serviceable. The biggest disappointment was that the hotel restaurant was closed for renovation while I was there. So, no rooftop drinks and dining, which I looked forward to when I booked. However, I'll likely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Meg from Seattle

Cigarette smell in the room

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: The location and the large rooms (plus there's a Starbucks downstairs)
Cons: Fumigate that smoking room -- rip out the carpet and start again!!
Location: Near a fabulous restaurant -- Shanghai Slim's -- and French Concession neighborhood is cute and trendy. The subway from the airport is 3 blocks away.
I guess the staff thought they were doing me a favor, putting me in a 'bigger' corner room, but although the tell-tale signs that it was a smoking room were there, I thought I could overlook the stench. However, after a day of sightseeing, when I returned to the room, I could not. I slept at the foot of the bed with the windows wide open, and it being Lunar New Year, the fireworks going off all night prevented me from getting hardly any sleep. Plus there are gimmicky, annoying nightlights surrounding the perimeter of the bed and the top of the TV, and the alarm clock shines a red date on the ceiling! The jetted tub and separate kitchen area did not make up for these deficits. The next night I switched to a nonsmoking room -- no stench, hooray! But it was still a very dark room, the tub (again) was right in front of floor to ceiling windows with brown miniblinds that don't quite close, the nightlights and alarm clock had to be deactivated to get the room conducive to sleep, and in this room, the windows didn't open at all, so there was kind of a claustrophobic feeling when the air doesn't kick on for a while. Though trendy and near the upscale French Concession area, this hotel didn't work for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bojo from Sydney

Great location, a bit old

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall quite good, but a bit old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from Melbourne

Posted Dec 14, 2013
Cons: The hotel could have local area maps for walking - the French Concession is an interesting area, but the standard Shanghai maps are too big
Location: Fantastic location, nearby Xintiandi is worth a visit for eateries and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marilyn M. from NYC

Gem in the French Connection

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was delighted with this hotel adjacent to Fuxing Park. Excellent and friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet location in this charming section of Shanghai and convenient to excellent restaurants and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ClaraAustralia from Australia

Second time to stay at Pudi Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Spacious, comfortable, super-clean rooms. Lovely robes and towels.
Location: Nearby Xintiandi, shopping on Huaihai Rd, Fuxing Park. Subway stations 5-10min walk away.
We stayed at the Pudi Boutique Hotel for the second time and really enjoyed our stay once again. The location is great nearby Fuxing Park and much of the french concession; walking distance to Xintiandi and subway stations. We visited Shanghai as a group of 4, and stayed in two rooms. The rooms were lovely and spacious, very comfortable bed and pillows, lovely window lounge. The bathroom is also large with a big bathtub. Luxurious towels and robes. The second room was upgraded to a bigger rooms in order for the rooms to be closer together, for free, which was lovely. It had a huge bathroom! Rooftop bar has nice views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarah from London

Great relaxing hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
A group (2 couples and 2 singles) of us stayed here for a friend's wedding and it was the perfect bolt hole. We had a few celebratory nights out and the hotel was the perfect sanctuary for the morning after. The concierge were also great at making food recommendations for us. The hotel was well located, a few mins walk to the main shopping street and about 5-10mons in a (v cheap) cab to the bund. The shower and bathtub were also a highlight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Zapper from UK

Good value for money

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Surprisingly large bedroom and bathroom, very well equipped, more than we were expecting for the price. Good location in the French concession, and the guys at reception were very helpful with booking restaurants, writing out instructions for the taxi drivers in Chinese etc. Only one niggle - the site and info in the room say there is a business center, but there wasn't.